KIDS AAJ KAL

Some scenes presented here,captured from the real life,observed in family and friends house.


Instance 1-A 5 year old daughter is helping her mother to tuck the mosquito net around the bed. Once the task is done the daughter while getting inside the net by mistake pulls a lot of net which was tucked in.
Mother: Offo, you took it out from that entire side 😦
Daugther: ek to maine teri help karayi,aur tu mujhe thank you bolne ki jagah attitude dikha rahi hai ?
Something familiar ? Yes, this is Kareena Kapoor’s dialogue in the movie Jab We Met !!!

Instance 2- A 5 year old grandson talks to his grandmother.
G.Son: dadi,main kala ho gaya ho kya ?
G.Mom: Nahi beta, tum bahot gore go.
G.Son: offo, abhi tak nahi hua 😦 Mujhe jaldi se kala hona hai !!
G.Mom: Areeh par kyon ?
G.Son: Kyonki kaale ladko ko gori biwi milti hai…Jaise papa ko mummy mili hain !
G.Mom was horrified equally as you are !

It just goes to reflect the kids aaj who are wiser than the kids kal.The power of words they have and the logic they apply to use them is unimaginable. They also show us that they have increased number of sources to gather knowledge than kids kal.Also these instances tell you how would be the kids of kal! *sigh,sigh*

I know being witty is acceptable,naughtily witty is also fine,but arrogantly witty is not acceptable !And off late I have come across lot of kids in age group 3-6 years who talk what you could not even think they would know ! At first place,the reaction is “gosh what’s this ? These kids talk like adults and have acquired so much wrong knowledge in wrong age”

But when I sat and thought through, it occurred to me that it’s not the age and it’s not the kids..It’s the time and the environment. We adults so easily make ‘generation’ the scapegoat and move out from the scanner. But the fact remains.We are equally responsible for the kids being like this today. The bringing up really really matters. And I think the culture and family values really play a major role. Kids are like mud balls which are to moulded in the right manner. I read in Mitch Albom’s book- Childhood is like a glass.And parents leave fingerprints on the glass by the way they behave with the kids ! Childhood is the learning and knowing phase,which is important.

These days I hardly see kids playing in the parks or grounds in the evening. However they are seen loaded with huge bags,almost twice their weight,going to the tuition.And when they are not doing this they are sitting in front of the TV or a computer to take a break from studies ! I do remember when I was a kid my parents never let me sit at home in the evenings and they made sure that I played some games at the colony ground for at least an hour every day. It’s the investment of time and nurturing that parents do to kids and the results are evident. The root treatment is to be done in the childhood itself that’s when you say that they are rooted to the family values and culture.So,am I saying that the kids mentioned above haven’t received any learning from their parents ? No ! I’m not saying this at all. Only trying to say that may be parents need to be more attentive and observant of their kids activities. Television does a major damage to the children and I think this problem should be taken care by parents immediately.

I came across a very nice verse by Kahlil Gibran in The Prophet.The lines are like this:

Your children are not your children.
They are the sons and daughters of Life’s longing for
itself.
They come through you but not from you,
and though they are with you yet they belong not
to you.
You may give them your love but not your thoughts,
for they have their own thoughts.
You may house their bodies but not their souls,
for their souls dwell in the house of tomorrow,
which you cannot visit, not even in your dreams.
You may strive to be like them, but seek not to make
them like you.
For life goes not backward nor tarries with yesterday.
You are the bows from which your children as living
arrows are sent forth.
The Archer sees the mark upon the path of the
infinite and He bends you with His might that His
arrows may go swift and far.
Let your bending in the Archer’s hand be for
gladness;
for even as He loves the arrow that flies, so He
loves also the bow that is stable.

Don’t expect from kids but give them the right things at the right time !Though I’m not a parent as of yet but what I have seen my parents doing to me in my childhood is crystal clear in my memories..And that’s why I’m what I’m today-Rooted ! But I’m sure those who are already parents,will understand this and know beyond as well.



9 thoughts on “KIDS AAJ KAL

  1. Totally agree in terms of how kids stay indoors these days or attend tuition. I used to play till I finished my B.A.! The hours reduced but I would still play cricket and football. But when I went back to Bombay this year, I noticed there were hardly any kids playing in our area. Sad…they don't have time to be kids!

  2. PB, Yeah, I'm concerned about todays kid. Hope parents really realize and make time for parking kids at the play ground !Template ? You liked it ? Great πŸ™‚ Thankuuuuu

  3. lol…loved this post NUkids these days…hola …no doubt me shudders at the thought of having a kiddo!!loved ur new template…way to go lady!!

  4. Phew! Finally am able to comment here πŸ˜› I even sent u an SOS mail ;)I feel so bad to see children din't go outdoors n play amidst the trees etc.. as we did! Even if its meeting with friends too, its over some computer/video games most probably! I hope we wil be able to show them the joy of playing outdoors running arnd in the playgrounds so that they don't miss the fun we had! Nice post Nu πŸ™‚

  5. Hey Swaram, BTW I haven't checked the email yet but I'm glad that the problem is sorted out …. Yeah, Kaaash, kids these days could experience the pleasure of playing actually than virtually !Indore kab aa rahi hai πŸ™‚

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

