Our "Chalta Hai" and Others’ "Priority"

Hubby’s thoughtfulness: [okay, sometimes taking advice from him and actually following it is not that bad :P]


Festive season around and of course all the shopping and getting new clothes stitched comes into picture. So I go to my tailor and give him some blouses to be stitched in time..well in advance for Diwali. He promises me that he will keep them ready on 26th September. Oh, great ! I’m thrilled to have them so early when I was expecting them to be ready by 10th of October. So, I return home and with all my pleasure check “stitching” item on my to-do list πŸ™‚


Today is 7th October and I’m yet to collect the blouses that I had given for stitching. Just being plain lazy since I have lot of time on my hands ! Hubby generally checks with me whether I have collected the stuff from my tailor. Here is the exact conversation:


H: Did you get those blouses from the tailor ?


Nu: Oops, No !


H: Oh, forgot ?


Nu: *trying to be defensive*..Ummm no, actually I have lots of time so I’m just taking easy on ‘things-to-do’. I’ll wind up few things and then collect those from the tailor…


H: Don’t you think you are always concerned about your time and convenience ?


Nu: *becomes alert…dhishum-dhisum ahead* ..Oh why do you think so ?


H: See, you are thinking about your time in hand and other things to do-which are tiny and going to the tailor hardly takes 10 mins of your busy schedule, no ?


Nu: Huh, so ? It’s okay if I collect it later on…what’s wrong with the delay ? I don’t mind since it’s not affecting my things πŸ™‚


H: Think about the tailor…he might be wanting the money soon…the festive season around he might want to buy things for his kids and wife…no ?


Nu: *is silent and thinks….*


H: May be you can give it a thought and can spare a little time from your ‘blogging busy-ness’ and do good to the tailor…who has always given priority to your stitching and has been doing a good job since 8 years now !


Finally, Nu gets convinced and on her toes… straight to the tailor…gets her stuff and now writing this post πŸ™‚ Yeah, sometimes we don’t think beyond our time schedules and priorities..what is “chalta hai” for us could be very important for others…point to ponder !!



23 thoughts on “Our "Chalta Hai" and Others’ "Priority"

  1. Very true. and think of the things if they turn other way round which is quite normal with tailors. πŸ˜€ If they promise a date and wont give on that day; the disappointment is huge.

  2. Awww…Exactly!!! Little do we realize that until someone points that out :)That reminded me of my dress I got to get stitched and which I had been keeping it off and the function is on 30th!! Heading to the tailor today itself!!!Hats off to H! πŸ™‚

  3. righton baby…so how did they turn out..i am so missing the new clothes era..of getting tem stitched and all…i have forgotten the tailors of our galli, the istriwalas…the luxury called India.Yahan pe..tailor bhi main..designer bhi main!!

  4. Very important point !! Sometimes, somehow we miss these small hings in life and take things casually, but what is casual for us may be very serious for somebody else. \Nice post.

  5. Phew! Thank god there wasn't any dishum dishum ahead. Your husband has nicely gotten to the point ya. I am thinking about my tailor now and what a rough time I may have given him unknowingly. 😦

  6. @BM: Right ya, if tailors don’t keep their promise we are so disappointed and we fire them left-right-centre!@ Athivas: Yes sweetie.. Tiny things but we tend to skip them !@Suree: Thanks dude, I really thought a lot before naming the post , glad that you liked it :)@EC: Ya ! But now that someone has pointed out we should try and take care of it πŸ™‚ Have conveyed your praise to H and he’s feeling so proud of his thoughtfulness ;P Given that my friends are convinced and praising him !@Rush: Oh they are perfect as always! He’s done a great job..I’m hooked to his work since 8 years now πŸ™‚ Oh sounds interesting that you are your own designer and tailor.. Though it would be quiet tedious for you na ? But creativity at your own stems!@TLC: Yes Amit ! That does happen a lot of time..But then we have such people who think other ways round and remind us of our duties..Which may make lot of difference into other’s lives ! Thanks :)@Titaxy: Right Ersa ! πŸ™‚ @Ranju: Yeah, me too πŸ™‚ But now I’ll be careful  @G: Really yes! If there would have been any it would have straight gone to the TOI news headlines πŸ˜‰ LOL!!! Yeah, he’s done that and now H is really beaming with happiness since so many ladies are approving his thoughtβ€”without him being required to convince them, quiet an achievement! LOL!!@Antarman: Thanks :)@Swaru: yeah a good thought to remember πŸ™‚ Yeah, the blouses are perfectly fitting in..Thanks to the tailor and to me as well… I haven’t put on that means πŸ™‚ LOL

  7. πŸ™‚ different but very logical take.. its right, we must listen to our husbands sometimes atleast.. mine is right most of the times..ajcl

  8. Nu, I earlier checked your profile, and wondered which of your blogs I should read. Finally u posted! :DWhat a thoughtful husband. Very nice. Next time, I will keep this in mind. I normally don't like asking vendors and suppliers to keep homing home with their bills. I pay them very promptly. I feel sorry when they have to make repeated trips to peoples homes!

  9. hey..i hopped right back and i think ur blog looks very pretty.. neat and cleanand point to ponder indeed, thoughtful H! πŸ™‚

  10. @Butterfly: Thanks so much for visiting…the other blog is my HR blog..professional one :)@ISH: Hey thanks for dropping by and hope to see you often now πŸ™‚ And thanks for all those lovely compliments πŸ™‚

  11. I never thought of it from this point of view… !! It's true once he has finished the work, he would benefit from being paid!!

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

