Today sunset and tomorrow ?

Took this picture from a play area in the township.A close friend has a bought a house there and we went there to see around..Happy that they are shifting to their new house soon and that a new begining and all that..amidst of discussing all this and planning things for their future house I saw this setting sun from the play area..of course the sun appealed me and since the photographer in me is active all the time I clicked it ! Beaming with happiness…a moment later when I was viewing this pic I realised the important side of it ! check it yourself…



If you look at it properly you will find that the sun set is soon going to get replaced with the glittering tube lights..all the nature is being demolished and strong-tall concretes are being built up instead ! But then the question is where will people live with the growing population that we have ? Hey but wait..in coming years there will be no electricity either…so no lights and no Sunsets too ! Too bad ! No wonder we will have to plan holidays to sunset points to see that lovely setting sun ! Sigh ! Oh but it will surely uplift the tourism industry,eh ? Okay so someone is getting benefited !

But what’s our real problem ? Concretization? ? Population ? Electricity ? Global warming ? what ?

May be it lies within us ! It’s our attitude towards what we think,what we do and what we want to be ! It really makes a big difference…

Day before yesterday was ‘Earth Hour’ and lot of people were glued to the television for IPL..oh the so great IPL ! Well,yes as guessed there were too many people who thought ‘how does it matter if I don’t switch off‘  VERY LESS thought that ‘It matters if I do my bit‘ !!

Sigh ! With this attitude of ‘how does it matter?’ we are reaching now where which is evident…but I think it’s still not very clear to the people who are still sleeping cosily in their heads ! Time to REALLY wake up people !

35 thoughts on “Today sunset and tomorrow ?

  1. Can't see the picture for some reason..but am with you on the post.TV is switched off for most part in our house and so are any extra lights.. and we are very perticular about these things..Doing our little bit..I guess

  2. Good point you make Nu.It would matter if we all do our bit.Btw noone thought it was ironical that stadium was lit up with floodlights on Earth Hour Day?

  3. With a kid at home its tough to put off lights and stuff for a whole hour…but yes…we do what we can…use electricity only and as much required…no wastage… 🙂

  4. A very valid and important point you made there. With each one doing our timy bit, there would sure be lesser cause to worry.Love that photographer in you! Love!

  5. You bring out very valid arguements Nu…We cannot get carried away by modernization… we do need some kind of moderation. For our bit, we keep lights switched off and I hardly watch TV 🙂

  6. Hey there Nupur, I am glad to have found someone who shares the same spirit of 'doing one's bit' even if others dont pay heed.. just take places of study/work for instance, so many times all the electric appliances of a room are on and people leave the room without a single glance!I always make it a point do my bit, not matter how small.. but that gives me immense peace of mind as I know it does to you =]

  7. Like the Greenpeace banner on my blog which says something to the effect of 'when the last fish has swum the river, when the last tree has been cut down…we'll figure we cant eat money' !Perhaps soon. Soon. When things get to pinch…we'll all realise !Sigh !

  8. you said it all in the post..people do not act..they have other things on their mind..they think about losses they are gonna incur in that one hour; but they won't think about the long term losses they are creating for the upcoming generations!

  9. Hey guess what, I was planning to write something on these lines but you beat me to it!we all have to do our bit, only then our beautiful planet can survive. And imagine paying a lot of money to see the sunset…pathetic.

  10. the problem is population..As Agent Smith says in the movie The Matrix"I'd like to share a revelation that I've had during my time here. It came to me when I tried to classify your species and I realized that you're not actually mammals. Every mammal on this planet instinctively develops a natural equilibrium with the surrounding environment but you humans do not. You move to an area and you multiply and multiply until every natural resource is consumed and the only way you can survive is to spread to another area. There is another organism on this planet that follows the same pattern. Do you know what it is? A virus. Human beings are a disease, a cancer of this planet."P.S. I comment on Blogger using google account but u know my blog is at wordpress.

  11. @Indyeah: Thankiee Indi 🙂 Yeah that's one of the concerns…the stadium lights and even the street lights which are lighted well before the darkness and are on till almost the sun is up ! 😦

  12. @Varsh: I can understand with the kid it would be a bit difficult..but the only fact that you realise it and do your bit is appreciable !! 🙂

  13. @Celestial: yeah..valid point it is..but how many would really understand it and implement…I mean people like us are doing our bits but we need to pull in more janta !

  14. @Aparna: Wow you too want to write on these lines..please go ahead..I'm sure your version is going to be a hit 🙂 It matters a lot when you have larger audience..so do write in :)Yes pathetic to spend money to see something we could have easily seen sitting at home 😦

  15. @Reema: Nice dialogue and the right place to bring it in :)Of course I know that you have wordpress blog 🙂 I do comment there regularly :)And I do hope that you know that I have a blog at wordpress too 😛

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

