Who and what decides the legality ?

In conversation with one of my friends..about what is tagged under legal and what is not. While talking we came to a point where we were discussing that since one is married it’s legal for the person to do and talk about the things that are generally considered of of law…like may be intimacy,display of affection etc.


I raised a point that whatever one thinks is right by all means AND not hurting anyone is legal-whether the people around approve of it or not ! May be I’m too idealistic about my approach towards things or too much cut out with the social norms…but this is what I feel !

I’ve always felt that way and over a period of time I’ve come to think of it as an in built feature of the package called Nu. And yes the factors like the way I’ve been brought up,the freedom of thoughts and speech that I had and the education that I received…also the peers that I had in school,college and work place. Yes all these factors do play an important role in making the person that we are !

But if one has to think logically-Isn’t it true that what one believes in doing and thinks that it’s right for oneself and the others around is what should be tagged as LEGAL ?

Just because someone is married he or she can do anything ? Just because someone is above 18 he/she can do anything ? Just because someone is older in age one is right all the time ? 

I don’t think so ! What’s your thought about this ? 



20 thoughts on “Who and what decides the legality ?

  1. I did not really get the point you were trying to raise. If you are talking about legalities, then anything that is permitted by law is legal. But that may not be right for me. For instance it may be legal for me to drink, but I may not consider it right.As far as marriage and intimacies are considered, it totally depends on your personal opinion.

  2. I am a little confused too, like Aparna. I think Legal simply means that you cannot be prosecuted for doing something. But it might be frowned upon in some sections of society, in some cases, it might offend some, so people might not do something even though it is legal for them to do so.. So in that sense, I think you are talking about morals and personal boundaries that we set for ourselves.

  3. "Whatever one thinks is right by all means AND not hurting anyone is legal"There's some problems with this: There is a couple in Adelaide — a father and daughter. It is an incestuous relationship but both are adults and got into the relationship as adults. So by the definition, they both think it is right and they are not hurting anyone. But I really doubt we can consider it legal.Another argument, a teenager who likes drinking thinks it's all right and is not hurting anyone else (so, is not a violent teen when drunk). Does that mean it is legal for them to drink? They are not hurting anyone even though research shows their cognitive functioning will be impaired…it's still not hurting anyone. I guess laws are there for a reason. Ridiculous laws that India and some other countries have about public displays of affection are a different matter. But we cannot have a blanket rule saying whatever we think is right as long as we are not hurting anyone could be legal as I think we would be setting ourselves up for a whole lot of problems…

  4. Life has got more questions to offer than answers. Everything that is true can become false another day – so we will never come to know the single source of truth to anything. We will have to live in a pseudo-reality and think this is the ultimate truth at least for the time being.

  5. Certain aspects exist in the law to find a solution in extreme cases, relationships are blended with intimacy and emotions, it is too personal!!

  6. There is a story about a man hitting people on their cheeks. And when questioned, he replied 'i am just swininging my hands. Their cheeks are coming in the way' !Its supposed to have gone all the way to the courts who ruled that the right to swing the hand stops just before it comes in contact with the other mans cheek !

  7. As Aparna said and I quote her – "I did not really get the point you were trying to raise. If you are talking about legalities, then anything that is permitted by law is legal. But that may not be right for me. For instance it may be legal for me to drink, but I may not consider it right.As far as marriage and intimacies are considered, it totally depends on your personal opinion."AGREE ^

  8. Hey Nu .. πŸ™‚ I am a silent visitor to your blog since a looooooong time and AWESOME, I must say ! :)WOW ! your blog is beautiful.. it has all the emotions a person goes through .. Very real and very practical .. :)I Have a post which i would like to display on your blog.. can i write a guest post ? only SOME people can understand the depth of it and the pain of the author.. you have a hugh blog following here .. i know thats a lot to do for a stranger .. but if you can do something about it .. πŸ™‚ do reply .. :)keep bloggin .. keep writing love -Ish πŸ™‚

  9. And i know it doesn't concern you abt the depth of the post and the author but if u can read it once πŸ™‚ JUST once i would be grateful .. πŸ™‚

  10. i have sent you the mail .. πŸ™‚ .. kindly go through it :)even if you don't like it . do inform me πŸ™‚ thanks a lot and if i can return ur favour in any way do lemme know abt it πŸ™‚

  11. Rewriting: If I understand correctly what you are trying to say is that why certain factors such as age, marital status decide whether a person's actions are justified legally or not.Unless the person is not hurting someone or not breaking the law per se, it must not matter. Is that right?But I think Nu, the laws are usually made generic so that they can be applied to a variety of people. If a fifteen year old knows to drive responsibly and better than any adult, it is not okay to give him a license cos that would be a biased judgement.

  12. @All: As I said I'll redo this post and put my point again !@G: Oh C'mon..I got a little busy you see πŸ˜‰ And 4 comments in a row on my blog spot ?? My My !! Well yes..you're right this is what I meant but that too in some cases..that's why I said I'll re do the post πŸ™‚

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

