Cross Post & Some Gyan

Just finished reading Moving On by Shashi Deshpande. Did a small review at Bond with the Books. If you’re an Indian Author fan you must check the review and if you are simply a book lover or crawler πŸ˜‰ you must check the review.

In short,yes,you MUST check the review which is here.

I like Shashi’s writing style. I have so far read 3 of her books and they all turned out fab in terms of story line,narration and language. Usually my experience with other authors is not so good-like if one book clicks doesn’t mean that other books of the same author will click too. Like it happened in the case of Danielle Steel. I liked her work in The Promise and Lightening but then I moved on to her next release that was Secret and it didn’t click at all. Now I’m a bit sceptic about buying another book of hers. So there ! But in Shashi’s case it’s different !

We just hosted a tag on BWB blog about how one chooses a book to read. I buy books on impulse. Not because the review is great,not because someone has recommended it,not because so and so are reading the stuff,not because it’s a new release. Just because I take the book in my hands,see the cover and scrollΒ throughΒ the inside in a jiffy,turn the book,read the excerpt and phew..I’m done buying or not buying the book πŸ™‚Β Easy steps to follow,right ?

I always feel book reading takes you far far away in your imagination.It helps you grow and understand people,relationship,history,terms in a different perspective. I always like people who read-novels,articles,non-fiction whatsoever. They always,according to me,are a level up from the rest of the people-who I don’t deny could be equally intelligent. But Book readers are something different,those of you feel somewhat close to this must be nodding in a yes !

I had read this in one of the books: ByΒ reading books you travel across the world without even moving an inch.

I just read a nice book list on Prats’ blog today and realized that I’ve to read so much. So many books unread and the speed of which these are getting published is unmatchable to any of the reader’s expertise !

I tend to buy books.I never like borrowing or issuing them from the Library. The reason I think is that simply because I want to create my ownΒ libraryΒ at home-for me and for the next generation ! What a pleasure to have your own set of books spread across a huge book wall and in one corner you have this reclining chair near the window with a light classical instrumental music playing in the background ! BLISS is the word,isn’t it ?

Aaah ! So me getting back to selecting another book for myself…yep going to MY library ! Till then you better go and check the review. And if you’ve already read the book do tell me what are your thoughts about it.

Leaving you with a PJ:

Mr.X to Mr.Y: the sun never sets in your household ! ❓

Mr.Y: yes,it doesn’t ! Because Sun always sets outside my house :mrgreen:

38 thoughts on “Cross Post & Some Gyan

  1. Must try this book – i quite enjoy reading Indian authors…gives u a flavour of all the quirkkiness of our Indian society.

    As a kid i used the library a lot but nowadays it’s buy the book! but i collect books mostly during flights and holidays. Usually in real prints…coz one i dont like reading prints where i have to strain my eyes and secodnly it’s not fair to the author

    However if there is a crappy book which i want to pick up – the street it is.

    1. I also like reading Indian Fiction. Oh as a kid I used the library too πŸ™‚ Yeah that’s right…real copies is the one I buy too πŸ™‚

      I generally don’t like street versions since they’re usually handled by many which doesn’t give a fresh feel πŸ™‚

  2. ROFL on the PJ πŸ˜€

    And oh, your library area does sound like bliss. What better gift for the next generation than books…good luck building your awesome lib Nu πŸ™‚

  3. Ok…review read and I think its a book to try for me…so adding to the list. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    WOW…what a PJ, Nu….me like it… πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ LOL !!! πŸ˜†

  4. Books ! I love love love books! I pick up loads from the library – I go through around 20 books in a month, and I can experiment freely when picking up books from the library. I do buy books – ones which I am sure which I want to add to my collection, and I am sure I will re-read.. I don’t think I will be able to survive without a good library around. I try to put together a library of books that have a long lasting appeal..

    By the way, Nu, I don’t seem to be able to get google reader updates from your blog 😦 Ialways end up landing here, searching for your next post 😦

    1. aiing ?? Why so ?? 😦 you know this seems to be happening with me too regarding certain blogs…I just don’t get updates and then I go searching to urls… 😦

      So I’ve bookmarked those blogs now which is at least a bit easier !!!

      Did you try removing my blog’s url and adding it again ? May be that’ll help !!

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

