Chatting or Gaming or both?

I playing [read:addicted to] scrabble on FB is not new to people who read me regularly.

I usually prefer playing ‘2 min’ timed games with whosoever is being paired by the server system.

Some strangers are really cool and play the game like a pro and some are very stupid. But some are interesting in their own ways. A liner that they use to open up a conversation is something to ponder about. Below are some questions with my answers [in my head] in italics.

“Hi! Good Luck” okay to you too.

“Hey! What do you do? Which city are you from?” I’m playing scrabble with you does that not tell you I’m useless?

“Please chat otherwise the game gets boring” Err…are we chatting or playing? *confused*

“Your photo is so cute. You must be very nice person” If only photos could predict a person…sigh!

“I like chatting on the game, do you?” Can’t you see that I’m not replying to you that means a NO!

“Hi! My name is xyz. I live here. I do this. What about you?” Okay thanks for your information but I don’t need it right now!!

I just wonder why people need to chat with strangers while they’re on the game. Isn’t it pretty simple to just play the game and go away?

The first thing we’re taught when we step into management school is that ‘You’re not here to make friends’ which is true to the core. We generally end up making friends in our college life which is okay but that’s not the sole or that’s not the intention to enter a B-School !

I think same applies here…we are logged in with a purpose and let the purpose be served and full stop !

Of course, this is my take on the matter and others are free to feel what they want to.  But when I come across such questionnaire types while playing I usually ignore the chat and if gets worse I simply quit the game.

What is your take? How do you feel about it or how would you feel about it?

29 thoughts on “Chatting or Gaming or both?

  1. True… Even i find it a little weired to chat with an absolute stranger…
    Btw interesting answers… LOL at I’m playing scrabble with you does that not tell you I’m useless? and Can’t you see that I’m not replying to you that means a NO!… 🙂

  2. wow…i have never met a talker during scrabble…however on the b-school i m going to disagree…my closest friends today and my husband are my biggest “takeaways” from school. not so much in touch with my college pals though 🙂

  3. Very long ago, I used to play Pool online with strangers. I ended up chatting with a guy who was brilliant at the game and he started by giving me a few good tips on how to play. We’re still friends and talk online sometimes, even after all these years 😀

    I run miles from the ‘do you wanna make friendship’ types online. But otherwise, put me with other people and I don’t stop talking.

  4. Sadly i dont play games on fb. I am sure these were all guys asking the questkons. Sadly i dont get girls saying my pic is cute LUCKY yu nu lady with cute pic 🙂

    But yeah i have become vert very wary about the virtual world
    By the way tbis is bikram i live in uk and i am a programmer hmmm what else ok aaj ke liye itna hi ha ha ha ha ha

    1. well of course as of now they’ve all been guys wanting to chat 😀
      why have you become wary of virtual world ??? tell tell ?

      oh Bik nice to meet you and thanks for the info 😉

  5. ‘But when I come across such questionnaire types while playing I usually ignore the chat and if gets worse I simply quit the game.’ Same here! I used to play at ISC as well as FB – but I am just not comfortable with overly chatty people. Some are so annoyingly persistent!

  6. ofcourse , chatting with strangers that also when the sole purpose is playing is of no use….moreover its a distraction frm the motive….
    hey ur answers were very intresting….:)

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

