“After Taste”

Basics of the book
Author Namita Devidayal
ISBN 9788784001082
Price 399/-
Story Line A business family set up in Mumbai
No. of Characters 6 Leads
Tone of writing Direct and Narrative
Language Expressive
My take on the book
Do I recommend Nope
Reasons being >Language as I said is expressive but looses the strength around the corners. >Somehow it fails to touch the chord.

>There is no proper trimming of the story at the end.

>Not appealing.

>Though the story in between arouses a curiosity that something major is going to happen in the end it flops down completely that ways.

>I think in the course of making it very down-to-earth and close-to-normal life novel the author has used certain form of language and strings of words which disgust the reader.

On the other hand >Nice bold print

>A lot is expressed about Mumbai dating back to the times when Indira Gandhi was around-oh but story totally concentrates on the β€˜Todarmal’ family.

>Some pearls of wisdom are spread across the book in Hindi and the translation is also provided for non-Hindi readers.

>The book cover is to fall for πŸ™‚


11 thoughts on ““After Taste”

  1. I like the tabular form you have done this review in. So much quicker and easier to read.
    Me: thanks πŸ™‚ the intention was purely the crispness for you all πŸ™‚

  2. When I read the title alone in my reader, I was thinking if u were going to talk abt taste buds and tasting something at home…oops, u disappointed me…its not a foodie post…. 😦 😦
    Me:Oh O 😦 Sowwy

    And totally agree to u…that book cover is damn good. But I am not going for it, as u said. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    Me: Just my view on the book…check it out next time when you’re at the book store πŸ™‚

    Nice way of reviewing…crisp and clear. πŸ™‚
    Me: Thankie thankie πŸ™‚

  3. I thought it was a foodie post too πŸ˜›
    Me: πŸ˜›

    Interesting format of the post πŸ™‚ Looks like I won’t be reading this one…which is good because as you know, my list is growing by the day! πŸ™‚
    Me: yeah who better than me knows about the ever growing list πŸ˜‰

  4. I saw my blogroll and thought more FOOD..
    Me: OMG you too ? πŸ™‚

    How do u get time to read so many books oh man I would do anything for TIMEeeeeeee πŸ™‚
    Me: there is no reading being done …come and see my ‘to-read’ book shelf and you’ll faint to see where do I waste my time and not read 😦

  5. nice format for review Nu πŸ˜€
    Me: Tnx T πŸ™‚ Actually it got boring to write the excerpt hence tabulated πŸ˜‰

    book doesn’t sound too appealing…will skip it πŸ˜€
    Me πŸ™‚

  6. Love this format of the review too! I think it is easy and quick to read!
    Me: Yeah thought it should be crisp and catchy πŸ™‚

    As for the book- am so disappointed! I had been drooling at the cover ever time I came here and had been waiting to hear your verdict! I was hoping it would be good – because the cover looked so good!
    Me: Exactly what happened with me Smithu !!

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

