‘NOW’

One activity that I love to indulge in anytime is revisiting the memory land and how do I do it? Well, through the photos…I was going through a heap of old photos today. Instantly, I was taken to the desired destination-the memory land.

The ‘black and white’ of the photos made me remember the colourful childhood wherein I’m sitting in a bathtub, licking a dripping ice cream, ready to go to the school on that first day, playing with my brother, posing for the camera very stylishly, my first rangoli, me cutting the b’day cake…. etc etc. I started missing my parents, those times, my childhood, my friends, school and everything that I had as a child.

Then I moved on to another set of photos-the coloured ones- where I’m a grown up…in my teens and yet again the times spent in college and with friends, came back to me. Gradually, I moved on to the photos where I’m with H and then surprisingly there was suddenly no missing and looking back. I wondered why. Then I realized, because H is my ‘present’ and that is all I have even right at this moment with me, apart from having him in the photos. Yes, maybe that is why….

Photographs… how they capture all the good times and let them have you in the form tangible memories with you, lifelong. Have you wondered why don’t we take photos when we are sad or angry or fighting or crying? Because, even the camera was made to capture the golden moments, happy moments of our lives and keep them intact in the form of photos, which we can revisit and reminisce.

So isn’t there any message hidden behind this? Lives moves on and so do we-willingly or unwillingly. Bad memories are not to be captured and stored or revisited. They’re best to be forgotten and buried.

I’m reminded of this stanza from the song “Ek pyarr ka nagma hai”

Kuch pakar khona hai, kuch khokar pana hai

Jeevan ka matlab toh, ana aur jana hai…

Do pal ke jeevan se, ek umra churani hai….

How thoughtful of the lyricist…. Do pal ke jeevan se, ek umra churani hai…. such a deep meaning!

And this from the movie ‘Guzaarish’

Life is short, break the rules, forgive
quickly, kiss slowly, love truly, laugh uncontrollably, and never regret anything that made you smile.

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did.

So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.

Explore. Dream. Discover.

And recently that I read at LOI’s blog….THIS

Make the most of ‘now’ and create good memories to grow old with and look back with smiles and tears of happiness!

12 thoughts on “‘NOW’

  1. What a thoughtful post…. Loved it…

    Me: thank you 🙂

    Revisiting old pics and reminiscing childhood or reliving the good old memories is always fun… 🙂

    Me: true 🙂

    And those lines from guzaarish are really good… How did I miss them??? May be I had dozed off by then…. 😀

    Me: lol…go watch again 😉

  2. What a beautiful post, Nu!

    Me: 🙂

    My dad always says, the past is gone, the future, you have no control about. The present id what you have – to learn from the past and to work towards a better future. Now -is all we have.

    Me: he is so right 🙂

    Making the most of now is my policy too 🙂

    Me: cool that 🙂

  3. my heart melt at the line where you said- then surprisingly there was suddenly no missing and looking back. I wondered why. Then I realized, because H is my ‘present’…
    indeed, present is all that we have in our hands..
    and as someone once said “..that is why it is called ‘present’ because it is really a ‘gift’..”
    so true!!

    Me: right you’re S 🙂

  4. I have no black and white pictures of me :(. I always ask Dad why and he just laughs. Looking at old pics brings so many memories back to me that it sometimes overwhelms me so much that I cant see anymore.

    Me: that means you’re too young or me too old 😀 B&W pictures are fun to look at 🙂 Yeah some pictures do that to you and then you are left stranded at the memory lane 😦

  5. Beautiful I am one of those who constanrly goes to old memories remembering the time I being eldest son and only male have been clicked so many times with various people some are still here some have left. Each time I go home to india I bring more pics with me. What used to ne and now. Good old days.

    Me: yeah me too have been the eldest child in the family and you know how it is with the first one 🙂 all pampering and clicking and all that :)..those are the golden days of our life-childhood!

    But the prsent is most important cause its gonna make our tomorrow. Yet past was what made our today.
    Nice one nu enjoyed this one.

    Me: thanks Bik 🙂

  6. Memories. Yes, some are painful, some are joyous. 🙂 I have a lot of pictures that remind me of good old times, my childhood and well, some that I am not able to let go even though I know I should. I like your snowy template. 🙂

    Me: 🙂 Thanks Punam !

  7. Beautiful post Nu. loved it. Blog will also be something to look back in cherish in few years time. It will be amazing to see how our thinking develops/changes over the period of time.

    Me: oh yes blog will too carry the old us and when we look back it will reflect what we were in the past 🙂

  8. wish it was all so simple … the memories I created then ‘now’ are the ones that haunt me the most today .. although then they seemed perfect for a happy old age 🙂

    Me: that’s exactly what it means…live in NOW..then ‘now’ is gone and is past..so leave it…though it’s easier said than done…but that’s how life moves on…HUGS dearest !

  9. Yes yes! U r rt 🙂

    Me: I know I know 😉

    Share all those pics NOW 😉

    Me: lol I thought of doing that …have to get them scanned…

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

