The wait ends here…

I’ve made this clear umpteen times by now that I’m a shopoholic-I love shopping for books and umm well books are the most bought item on my list all the time πŸ™‚ So there…

While I was in Mumbai the only thing I knew to do on weekends was to go to PVR-Shopper’s Stop Juhu and spend almost entire day watching a movie and going to Crossword [Shopper’s Stop] and when I used to be home it always felt like a day well spent.

It became my habit since I was alone-hubby being away then-Books were and have been always my best friends to give me company wherever I go πŸ™‚ And movies are the second best thing next to books !!! πŸ™‚

Any way so when I shifted to Indore all I missed was Shoppers Stop store with Crossword outlet. I just could not imagine life without books-read: buying books ! Though I managed to locate a decent small store here at Indore but you know one who has been to the book store like Crossword what do they expect !!! So I was disappointed though not totally let down cause at least there was still a way that I could buy books!

In desperation I wrote to Shoppers Stop customer care and whoa they replied with a positive intimation that they’ll soon launch the store in Indore ..but how soon obviously they didn’t tell me that 😦 Β I kept on waiting waiting waiting and sigh waiting!!!

But but but finally SS opened up here in Indore last week and what a store it is,I’m telling you! The first thing I did was to go the Crossword section and next section this time was the ‘Mothercare’ section πŸ™‚ Usually after books I make way to the ‘Tribal’Β jewelleryΒ section and clothes &Β perfumesΒ πŸ™‚ [yes I’m hinting to you..giving you choices to send me gifts!!]

But any way the whole point is I’m super duper happy that Crossword is finally here ! When I went to the store there was a piece of conversation held between me and the sales exec there…See how I flaunted my long time association with SS πŸ˜‰

SE: Good eve mam! Would you like to become aΒ memberΒ of SS? We will issue you a ‘First Citizen Card’ with many benefits.

Me: [with a ‘chin high’ look] I already have the membership card !

SE: {thought that I just got it from other SE in the store] But mam you must not have purchased anything yet and the card must beΒ activatedΒ or else it will be of no use !

Me: [with a greater chin-high and stern look-tone of the voice-full of attitude] I’ve done a lot of shopping at SS since so many years now…!

SE: [puzzled]

Me: [with a victorious look ;)] Well I’ve been shopping in Mumbai you see !

SE: :-O okay okay !

Actually what I noticed that day that SE’s were taking public for granted as in they thought Indorians might not have been out of Indore πŸ˜‰ or might never have seen SS store πŸ˜› or never have shopped like this ! Duh !!!

So happy times are here again. Good going Indore, Cheers !

11 thoughts on “The wait ends here…

  1. πŸ™‚ so you got the card and you are making best use of it .. πŸ™‚
    Well at least the SE will now know that he cant take it for granted… Happy times again then .. All the best .. and makse sure you tell us what books u read and if they are good or not as I am making a list ,.. the books i need ot buy when i come to india .. in a couple of months time fingers crossed …

    thanks B πŸ™‚ So India visit on the cards han? πŸ™‚

  2. Yay happy days are here again :). You know its one thing I miss having here too- the presence of a good book shop and library :(. Precisely why one of the major things I look forward to doing every time I go home is do full-fledged book-shopping πŸ™‚

    sigh the pain of one book lover can be felt by ONLY the other book lover !!!

  3. I like their accessories and jeans collection πŸ™‚
    Oh those membership cards irritate me. I stay away from cosmetics/perfume side as the SE pounce upon me. I am scared of them 😐

  4. Way to go!

    I can imagine how painful it is to be without a good bookstore!

    I buy books mainly when I am in India. I read them there and leave them at home, because here, I worry that I will end up leaving my books behind when we re-locate back.. This time I plan to try FlipKart πŸ™‚

  5. LOL Nu….u sound like my younger one…. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Cool πŸ™‚ I take it as a compliment πŸ˜‰

    But I too love Crossword and its such a pleasure shopping for books. πŸ™‚

    yeah yeah πŸ™‚

  6. My office is right next to SS, and we all HATE SS πŸ˜€ seriously. The Crosswordoutlet was th only solcae — but its RATHER tiny, and the people thr don even allow us to sit n read πŸ˜›

    hawww! sacchi ?

    Anyway, books rhyme with Flipkart, as far as i’m concerned πŸ˜€ esp after i realised books are far lesser priced than CW or Landmark!

    that’s true but still going to a book shop,taking the book in your hand,feeling it and then making a decision to buy takes over the price factor for me πŸ˜‰ though I do shop on flipkart too but that’s rare! πŸ™‚

  7. Ummm Should i be congratulating you on the your hand in the opening of SS in Indore???

    Aha,at least one soul who noticed what I can do and what I have done πŸ™‚ thank you thank you !

  8. HEY !Pvr crossword it is ..for me and my son too!! We spend hours in the evening pouring over books there ,some of them we finished reading there itself ( with disapproving looks from my son who calls me chindi at times) What to do you can’t buy everything:-(
    Happy to know one more crossword fan:-)

    I’m glad I’ve company πŸ™‚

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

