When the door to the past opens

you find

  • old greeting cards from friends on valentine’s day,friendship’s day,b’day..even holi too πŸ™‚
  • snaps taken with friends at b’day parties celebrated at home and with cousins at family gatherings
  • handwritten letters from friends and cousins AND my grandmother πŸ™‚
  • cut-outs from magazines,Β newspapersΒ and books-nuggets of wisdom types πŸ™‚ all put together in a LIC diary converting it into a scrap book πŸ™‚
  • an old notebook with some precious thoughts which came to me in my childhood πŸ˜‰
  • some loose papers where I have written about my ambitions in life et al
  • some loose papers with doodles and cartoons..funny cartoons πŸ˜€
  • slam books from school and college [by the way never understood why is it called a ‘slam’ book? :D]
Past does not always carry a ghost at it’s back..there is a colorful and happy past too in each one of our’s life and we indeed need to revisit it time and again to relive those wonderful moments spent with those wonderful people ! Who knew then that today when I would see all these things I would feel so content and nostalgic…today when I did some cleaning of the closet and books’ shelf I found these gems and can’t express how am I feeling right now πŸ™‚
Today,I thank myself for keeping these intact and not letting it go away from me..also the scarp book that I’ve found has lot of funny,awesome,thoughtful stuff in it and I’ll be sharing them on this space every Wednesday tagged as ‘Wordy Wednesdays’ πŸ™‚ Β As I said the cut-outs are from several sources,few of which I remember were TOI newspaper,Teens Today Magazine,Reader’s Digest etc etc.
So,do you too carry your beautiful past with you or no?
18 thoughts on “When the door to the past opens

  1. how so wonderful! i dont really have much from my past except for the memories πŸ˜€ i will start saving things now though so that few years down the line can look back and reminisce πŸ™‚

    do that πŸ™‚

  2. Ah the past is definitely colourful. Eeven the darkness we went through during those times look funny now. I look back n laugh πŸ™‚

    as long as you’re laughing everything is nice πŸ™‚

  3. yep.. I carry my past – the beautiful and the not so beautiful memories…The beuaitful ones make me smile and realise how blessed I am πŸ™‚

    yeah these memories are a reminder of our being lucky and having such lovely people around us πŸ™‚

  4. So very true apart from one black spot my past has been beautiful lovely and wow can do anything to go back to it. Still have all those letters pictures cards.. And when I am feeling lonely I go throuh them and its back to smiles again… I am blessed

    how true πŸ™‚ touchwood !

    How you doing and how is the little one.

    thanks B,we are doing great πŸ™‚

  5. I always keep little souvenirs from friends and places that I had fun at or were special. A constant are tissues from the place. Sometime back I found a tissue a dear friend wrote on my bday party…and she said she loved me a lot. It’s beautiful to cherish such moments. I have however now become conscious of what I keep…no more ghosts in the closet.

    actually yes…being conscious in what you’re retaining is a wise thing to do or else somethings make us feel bad about the past too !

  6. I always keep gifts and cards safely … some of them date back to early 1994 … some of the best memories are in past πŸ™‚ I felt so nostalgic while reading the post

    we all feel nostalgic on drop of the hat…that says a lot about human nature πŸ™‚

  7. I read in HT online paper today morning that my College back in Delhi had organised a get-together for alumni…took me back to wonderful years

    good old days those πŸ™‚

  8. I keep my old mail, letters, pics and memories. It’s amazing how at times u can even remember what u were thinking when u read that mail or letter. it’s like it transports you back to another time.

    Btw i dont really like this layout. V difficult to read

    yeah what were you wearing,who were you with and sometimes even dates/days too πŸ˜€ by the way changed the theme for you madam πŸ™‚

  9. Loved the post… πŸ™‚

    I do have a happy past but I only have memories of it and no slam books or any cut outs….. And trust me even if I would have had them the chances of finding it would have been rare coz I don’t remember which was the last decade when I cleaned my shelf or wardrobe or the drawers…. πŸ˜€

    welcome back πŸ™‚ how is it going Tan?

  10. I too treasure everything-all gifts, letters, cards but lost everything during an shift few years back 😦 All that we do now is meet up some time and talk about those wonderful times we had πŸ™‚

    oh meeting up and reminiscing is the best thing one can ever do to relive the past πŸ™‚

  11. I don’t have many memories from my childhood, except pics. I lost all those precious poems and stories I used to pen down as a kid. Would have loved to read them now. 😦
    I do have all the little bits and pieces of life from college life onwards. I preserved them and I am happy to look at them now. πŸ™‚
    Recently, I noticed a lot of knick-knacks that the better half has saved from our relationship – the yellow mangalsutra thread that he tied around my neck on the day of our marriage, the first keychain that I gifted him, the first letter and card I sent him and so on, along with some currency notes his (now no more) grandma gave him, and the first pen that he got from his first company after he finished his training there. I didn’t know about this, and only recently, he showed his ‘collection ‘ to me. Felt happy, touched and blessed – to be of so much importance in someone’s life. πŸ™‚ I really should do a post on this.

    aww that’s super cute πŸ™‚ So c’mon bring that post,waiting πŸ™‚

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

