A precious day of the week

Every family has a particular way to spend it’s Sundays. Nowhere you’ll find the exact array of activities happening in homes on a Sunday and mind you I’m talking about a Sunday and not any holiday/s.

Sunday brings with it a spur of activities..like watching movie,shopping,eating out,ordering in,lazying around,tugged in the blankets,outing,guests coming in,weekend chores,friends jamming at joint/someone’s place,children having a plan…et al

When I look back I remember how my Sundays used to be with my family…the day started with dad making breakfast for all of us-most of the times egg dishes [oh he makes yummy egg curry,but that’s for lunch ;)]- while we sat at the dining table the lunch menu was discussed [if it had not been already decided the day prior]..I remember watching ย ‘Ramayan’ each Sunday. Also a quick check on whether there is any homework and whether I have done it or not and of course if something has to be done it had to be completed then in the day itself to avoid blocking the evenings which were kept reserved for outings,visiting our family friends or simply going out to the local market to hog on the delicious ‘chaat’ ๐Ÿ˜‰

Evenings also meant playing ‘outside’ with friends-the games were typical like badminton,seven times,dodge ball,hide and seek,unch-neech,ย colorย touch [call out a color and something of that color had to be touched],red letter,hopscotch,fire in the mountain,ย Frisbeeย etc etc…Aaah childhood and fun things associated with it,precious!

Basically, Sundays then meant closing down of markets,washing hair,reading that extra comic book,ย sleepingย in late,going to zoos and national parks & picnics.

So usually my Sundays have been simply happy-shappy with not much frills attached to them..but then in those times all this WAS fun and was called ‘happening’ ! I miss those Sundays and I wish sometime at least one of those Sundays should come back to me,just one?

And today it is given all the more importance thanks to the work environment and busy lives that we dwell in. To accompany the lone Sunday we have Saturday too-as they say it takes two to tango so even weekly holiday too comes in pair ๐Ÿ™‚

But whatever the age or time or decade…Sunday still remains a day with a definition ofย relaxing,lazying,doing what you like to do and just letting it go ! Ever thought how precious a day,apart from things and human beings,could be for us? ๐Ÿ™‚

How do you remember your Sundays as a child? Do you miss those Sundays?

P.S. while doing this post I was reminded of the games we played as children..and there were so many which are merely known to today’s kids! Playing in those days was so much fun and it meant a lot,unlike today,no? Baaah…I want to playย Chineseย whispers, four squares,musical chairs,and those clapping games…..oh my god…can you recall more ? Which were your fav games ?

P.P.S. To know the history of this day and how it got it’s name read this.

11 thoughts on “A precious day of the week

  1. I am nostalgic ๐Ÿ™‚ I remember eagerly waiting for Sundays mainly because of school ๐Ÿ™‚
    We used to watch TV, mom used to make something special for lunch or dinner. We used to play outside and then everybody used to sit together to watch movies (whatever they showed on DD) ๐Ÿ™‚
    That was fun !

    yeah whatever they showed on DD ๐Ÿ™‚ we had a simple childhood na? ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. yes sunday is the best .. school times it was breakfast was Aloo- paranthas with some sabzi or if we are lucky then liver .. Then we would go to the grounds our school had HUGe grounds and play games , cricket with tennis racket and ball, hockey etc etc .. till lunch.. then take leave to go and watch a movie in cinema ๐Ÿ™‚ and the ncome back ot Doordarshan movie he he hehe ๐Ÿ™‚

    right aloo parantha was typical breakfast on Sundays other than egg sandwiches ๐Ÿ™‚

    College time was spent in GEDI’s and crickettt behind Sukhi’s house : )..

    hahah sukhi reminds of me Rang De Bsanati ๐Ÿ™‚

    and Now it is sleep time most of the time .. i hate TV ๐Ÿ™‚ but i do spend time on my ps3 and xbox ๐Ÿ™‚

    how time changes our habits and priorities,sigh!

  3. Sunday is still spent lazing. All shopping etc is done on Saturday. Sunday means, cook chicken at home. Laze. Wash hair. Cut nails. Apply nailpolish. Maybe do some laundry. Just chat, gossip, discuss, watch TV and by the evening start sighing that it’s over ๐Ÿ™‚

    yay ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Sunday meant Ramayan, Mahabharat, Disney Hour, maybe my mom would make something special, maybe we would go out for lunch or to a family friends house. Afternoons were reading, playing..Aaah childhiood

    I wonder sometimes if our children will look at their childhood with as much nostalgia – a simpler time, a fun time.

    yeah something special for it was Sunday ๐Ÿ™‚ exactly my thoughts nuts..I don’t what our children would do..sigh !

  5. For me it was Fridays, back in the Gulf. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Who doesn’t love weekends… I used to hate it when it’s evening… I wished that day was longer than the weekdays. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    this wish is common across the globe ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Sundays for me was playing, duck tales, mowgli, great food and being happy that both the working parents were with me the whole day ๐Ÿ˜€

    duck tales,mogli yeah yeah..reminiscing !

  7. Awwwww this post brought back so many memories. ๐Ÿ™‚ Again, I need to a whole post to write about my Sunday memories. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’d love to go back to those Sundays as well. Some of my prominent memories of Sundays are – Duck Tales, Rangoli, Stone Boy, visiting British Library, more reading, a lazy morning walk, visiting the neighbourhood park in the evening, checking out different eat-outs with a friend, cooking in the mornings, washing my hair and a long leisurely bath, lots of listening to the radio, catching up on a movie or a chat with a friend, and lots more.

    there are so many posts piling up GND…buck up..you’ve to do all of them ๐Ÿ™‚ oh yes duck tales..the lovely cartoon show ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I was the most obedient child…so if I was a good girl….dad would give me a special doll that would laugh and cry and looked like a real baby…it was kept in a showcase otherwise. So I would get the doll and special permission to wear my mom’s pencil heels and I would play house house. What innocence….beautiful days. Sunday’s are still special…lazy…family time…go to church together…meet the grandparents…but then unlike the early days…. monday blues hit it by the evening…those were the good times!!!

    really you were most obedient? ๐Ÿ™‚ aww the doll I recall from the childhood too ๐Ÿ™‚ those were the days !

  9. Am back! And sad that u did nt remember y I ws nt arnd ๐Ÿ˜ฆ *sniff*
    I want today to be a Sunday! Am sleepy ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜›

    ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜› focus on the point that I was missing you !

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

