Dear Chirpy-6 months already?

Today you’ve turned 6 months young. Every mother goes through this feeling where in she wants her baby to slow down a bit..rewind if possible. I’m not an exception and here I’m,feeling the same sentiments,looking at you with pride,joy filling my heart….you’re 6 months complete today!

What all happened in these 6 months is a bit difficult to list down here right now but all I can say is you’ve grown to be a sweet little darling to us..we’ve grown to be your parents…we’re learning at every step..at times I feel we’re immature to handle you and at times I’m surprised at the way we tackle situations so easily..parenting is a magical word..it has it’s own ups and downs and trust me even the downs have fun strings attached to them πŸ™‚

I’ve come to realize that what they say is right..a child teaches you to deal with life..it’s innocence teaches you to let things go and change your perspective…to set the priorities right…now I know why these things are not taught at any school…cause there is an appointed teacher for us all…our children πŸ™‚

Chirpy,I’ve so much to tell you always…but when Aai sits down to jot down things she tends to forget and lose track of what she is writing…there is so much I want to do with you..for that I feel time should fast forward a bit and take me to the phase when you start talking to me,we go shopping hand in hand,you have your own choices and you tell me that you want green and not yellow,that you want to wear theΒ dungareesΒ and not the shorts…I so want to reach that stage where I can see my little doll doing things her own way…making me run around her all the time πŸ™‚

But right at this moment when I look back,at your pictures…they make me nostalgic…I recall how you came to our lives..right from the day when I came to know that I’ve you in my tummy…how your Daddy were so excited and he at that instant started talking to you πŸ˜€ how you connected to him from inside me…how you kicked me when we went on long drives,when daddy played pokey pokey with you and when you used to feel hungry πŸ™‚ you gave signals to me…

You know Chirpy I had heard from lot of mothers that motherly instinct tells a pregnant woman about the gender of her baby…but you know your Aai,don’t you? πŸ˜‰ She just didn’t get that right till the last day…but but baby…just the day before..in fact just few hours before your arrival I told your daddy that you’re a girl ! yeah I was so confident when I said that and I also thought of your name then ..it was Aratrika [meaning: the pious lamp beneath tulsi plant lit in evenings,said to be killing the darkness & evil] But your daddy wanted to go by the ‘janm akshar’ so Aratrika it could not be..but what you’ve right now is precious too πŸ˜€

We did have little problems to adjust to each other in the initial days but we did fairly well,I must say you cooperated well. I was a new mom,the first timer and I had no clue as to how to deal with post pregnancy mood swings,handle the newest addition to life,the family,my life in itself…I was confused but your daddy and you held me tightly,thank you for that baby.

There were times when I felt so unreal for being a mother. I felt inadequate to play the role that I had chosen for myself. I thought may be this was not the right time…but all these feelings vanished when I looked at you..when you tugged at me…you loved sleeping on my tummy endlessly and I felt so connected to you,you looked at me into my eyes as if trying to say ‘all is well,mommy’ πŸ™‚ I got your signals again and I felt better…you made it better for me..you’ve been brave till date and I’m sure you going to be the same,little,cuddly,brave girl going forward!

Chirpy, you’ve started sitting, rolling,slightly crawling and now trying to make some ‘word’ sounds…sometimes I feel who tells you that now is the time you have start trying to crawl..now is the time you have to learn to sit…who? How does it all work? Magic. Yeah it’s magical…babies in itself are like magic show forever in parent’s life πŸ™‚

You have outgrown your old clothes and I keep stacking them in cupboard rather than giving them to some expectant mothers…I don’t feel like letting go any of it which has the scent of you..the clothes,the toys,your tiny socks,eating bibs..nothing! It’s all so precious to me…I sometimes take them out and touch them..feel them against my skin and I feel the same tiny you in my arms…

We bought you some books in August and since then we’re reading them to you..2 stories each day…initially you enjoyed listening to us but now you’ve stopped doing that…instead you snatch the book from our hand and insist on reading it yourself πŸ˜› yeah yeah a reader in making already :D.There are so many wishes on my mind regarding you and one if it is coming true it seems…I always wished that my baby should love reading and that I should not be made to force books upon you..you bringing that wish true for me,thank you doll !

As if... πŸ™‚

I owe this happiness to you my darling…you’ve changed our world and no matter how hard life gets on us we always have you to look at and forget about everything that’s bothering us…your one smile and things get better in an instant…you are our angel baby…we love you the most! And even if I write in so many words,I would never be able to tell you how much I love you and that you mean so much to me…..but I’ll keep trying to tell you through these letters about my feelings…about what I go through when you suffer from cold,how I cry when you fall down the bed [yeah you managed to do that twice :(],how I laugh out loud at your joker acts ;), how I feel like gobbling you up when your’e sleeping….how I feel contended when you wrap your hands around my neck & hug me tight….aww baby…I love so much darling…I love you!

We feel blessed to have you in our life,stay chirpy,stay happy and stay healthy!

With loving wishes,A very happy 6th month b’day to you,

Aai & Daddy

P.S.Β Did I tell you how your daddy is becomingΒ possessiveΒ about you day in day out? His world literally revolves around you now and he has changed in so many ways effortlessly! Few years back when I asked him to accompany me to the swimming classes, he simply ignored my wish saying it bores him and just day before we were discussing of starting your swimming classes when you turn 1-1.1/2..he suddenly came up with this idea that he must learn swimming right now toΒ accompanyΒ you later,huh! And it is not an idea any more it is a reality…your daddy did his swim suit shopping and got himself enrolledΒ already:) Anything for you darling,anything for you πŸ™‚

19 thoughts on “Dear Chirpy-6 months already?

  1. Many many happy returns of the day on the 6months πŸ™‚

    and yes daddy’s love their daughters more for sure .. I know my dad definitely loved my sis more then me …

    Happy 6th month b’day to chirpy

    thanks a lot B uncle πŸ™‚

  2. Happy Half B’day Chirpy πŸ™‚

    thank you AT massi πŸ™‚

    Scribby you just described what I do with munchkin’s old clothes πŸ˜€ Enjoy your little bundle of joy πŸ™‚

    hai na? happens with you too na? πŸ™‚

    PS: I couldn’t agree more on Daddy and daughter relationship. Munchkin is DH’s fan, she wants me only for work but her Dad is her favorite.. πŸ˜€

    exactly the same this side πŸ™‚

    1. wanted to add that I love that picture, too cute πŸ™‚ she is adorable..

      thank you AT…babies are the cutest in this world πŸ™‚

  3. wow such a lovely post.. “how I feel like gobbling you up when your’e sleeping” – I have felt the same many times..
    “you’ve changed our world and no matter how hard life gets on us we always have you to look at and forget about everything that’s bothering us…your one smile and things get better in an instant…” – can’t agree more..

    I think God sends us babies for forgetting our pains and taking a step ahead towards happiness,isn’t it? πŸ™‚

    wait i will start copying all lines from the post here.. I can so relate to most of them esp. the daddy changing part.. I am witnessing it for the past 6 years πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ he simply says “anything for my baby”..

    these dads I tell you πŸ™‚ but it’s cute to see all this happening to the men of our lives πŸ™‚

  4. aww πŸ™‚ love is pouring through every word here, Nu.

    Chirpy, happy 6th month, baby. Wish you all the smiles and laughter, cuddles and hugs…wish you a very happy life!

    Thanks Anonymous…would like to know who you are πŸ™‚

  5. Aww. Love is pouring through every word here.

    is it not? πŸ™‚

    Chirpy, happy 6th month to you baby. Wish you all the love and joy, smiles and laughter, cuddles and hugs. Wish you a very happy life!

    thank you thank you T massi πŸ™‚

  6. πŸ™‚

    You write yo your daughter so well, that I begin to wonder first, how does it really feel like a mother (time will tell…) and secondly,did my parents feel similar things when they had me…ok when they had their first-born, my sister…I am pretty sure they did. It is great you are keeping a proof of your love to Chirpy as you feel them! πŸ™‚

    I think every set of parents go through these kind of emotions for their child πŸ™‚ and I also think every one records their love and the antics in their own way πŸ™‚

    I have to share this talk with you, because I am sure you will relate to it and will see similarities with Chirpy…
    http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/eng/deb_roy_the_birth_of_a_word.html

    oh thanks for the link,I sure will watch it Aparna!

    Loads of love to dear Chirpy…

    chirpy says thank you massi πŸ™‚

  7. That picture is just too precious. Look at her staring with all seriousness πŸ˜€

    oh you have to see her holding books or newspapers in hand…she looks like reading every word in it and saying ‘please don’t distrub’ πŸ™‚

    Beautiful write up . I see myself in you, when I wanted my girl to grow up and yet remain the tiny blob that she was born as. Story of every mother, seems like πŸ™‚

    it sure is story of every mother worldwide πŸ™‚

  8. WOW!!! ek dum kala tikka post…happy 6th month Chirpy..and keep the reading on…can you please put something like a kala tikka on that photo…feel like snatching that book from her, taking her in my lap and then reading it along with her…

    thank you for your wishes RM massi πŸ™‚ hahah come over and enjoy reading with her till that time I can play with R πŸ™‚

    and she sits at 6 months..isnt that awesome!

    she sits as in with cushion supports πŸ™‚

  9. Firstly, I am awed by your sane state of mind to write such a beautiful post 6 months after your delivery 😯 I mean it’s been 7 years since I popped a kid and I am yet to get back to my normal hormonal levels πŸ˜₯

    did you me and with a sane state of mind? really? πŸ˜€

    With a doll like her, anyone could fall madly in love πŸ˜‰

    aww πŸ™‚

    Ps: Am I glad to see that she is already into books πŸ™‚

    oh you don’t know how happy I’m with this….sigh of relief at least for now πŸ™‚

  10. Oh wow! The 6 month landmark. Now u see how quickly she will grow, tooths, sitting, crawling, walking….and in no time she will be one!!!

    han re everyone around me keeps telling the same thing..time flies !!!

  11. That pic is just so cute. Look at the concentration πŸ™‚ Yay to the born reader πŸ™‚
    Dads r like that na πŸ™‚ Anything for their daughters πŸ™‚

    yeah yay to the born reader πŸ™‚ exactly dads across the globe are alike πŸ™‚

  12. You are feeling nostalgic already? Wait till a couple of years pass by and you’ll wonder “who is this miss-know-it-all ?” πŸ™‚ Trust dads to do the flip. Love the picture. My daughter does the exact same thing – only she snatches away the book am reading to her bro πŸ™‚

    I hear you MoRS,I hear you….sight why do they grow up!!!! Aww how cute @ T πŸ™‚

  13. Have you got those Board Books ..Parragon publishers?? my niece has them and they are so colorful and nice..also not “tear-able” at all

    yes yes we have the board books and the cloth books too πŸ™‚

    1. In the process of bringing up children, we ourselves grow up in so many different ways. πŸ™‚

      yeah now that I’m experiencing it day by day I feel I’m growing once again πŸ™‚

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

