Are you cooking? Is your man home?

H is out of station today,he left early morning. MIL said let’s not cook anything cause there is some bhakri from yesterday’s dinner and she is not very hungry to eat a full meal. So,today I just had to cook for Chirpy which is kind of negligible cooking!

I was thinking on these lines..where I’m kind of happy that I got a cooking break today,but how. Back then when daddy used to go on tours Ma used to cook very little having two little children and herself to eat. I also heard this from lot of other mothers that they had nothing much too cook since my friend’s fathers were on tour.

And today I did the same. So what’s the logic? When the man of the house is not at home or not going to be the part of the meal,then the woman in the house need not cook?

Does that happen at your place too? Why do you think it happens?

21 thoughts on “Are you cooking? Is your man home?

  1. Definitely happens at home. If it’s just me I’ll put something frozen into the microwave, if my husband is home we’ll (generally) eat properly cooked food.
    I guess I just can’t be bothered to cook if it’s only for one.

    I think that’s the whole point..we aren’t too bothered to cook for self πŸ™‚ welcome here LAM πŸ™‚

  2. Well in my case its only three people..when RD is not there, its maggi time and when R is not there (She prefers to go to daycare on Saturdays) even then its maggi time πŸ™‚

    Guess, the lesser the people, the lesser the need to cook?

    umm may be yes πŸ™‚

  3. I guess when kids are younger you can do this, but for me as they r grown,it does not happen as much as before! But when they were litle,yes, i did thr same thing as you!

    oh so it relates to children being children is it? hmm then I’ll have to come back to this one when Chirpy grows up πŸ™‚

  4. He he he! Cud nt hv come at a better time πŸ˜‰ Su is out for 2 days and i hv nt cooked too! It’s just damn boring for me to cook for myself πŸ˜€

    hhahaha see! every place it’s the same story..our men eat a lot or it’s only for them that we are interested in cooking? πŸ™‚

  5. Yes it happens here too…but for practical reasons. It is so much work to cook just for yourself. In my case I have to eat whatever I cook for A Jr…whether I like it or not…only to save my time and energy. πŸ˜‰
    Although I should also add that when I’m in the mood to cook I do plan a whole thing for myself πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    now that’s a good logic behind less cooking πŸ™‚

  6. When I lived by myself I would hardly cook elaborate meals…only when the partner would come over would I go through the effort of making a meal. No point cooking heaps for just one person who doesn’t eat much anyway! And who is not a fan of freezing food and having the same thing for a week! Having said that, even now, we don’t cook everyday…

  7. Before me too was not cooking when husband is not at home but now i am cooking for myself too.As husband is out for 5-6 months in a year,so i cook a lot when he is around and also i cook my favorites when he is not around.

    sounds like an idea to cook what you like when he isn’t around..I must do it the next time πŸ™‚

  8. That certainly happens with me πŸ™‚ These days, because Husband is travelling 5 days a week, I cook on Fridays, because he hates it if I cook on weekends – so yes, my cooking is minimal when we are alone.

    hain ghar ghar ki kahani πŸ™‚

  9. in my home it doesn’t depend on whether DH is home or away… I have cooked meal when I was alone…it just depends on my mood…

    when my father used to be away, my mom used to cook all the time..she had three hungry monsters to feed πŸ˜€

    guess I have to see what happens when my baby grows up….

    hehehe yeah when munchkin grows up it would be different,may be πŸ™‚

  10. yes…me and my Mom also used to have Maggi, or just curd rice…when Dad used to go out. Even now when Hubby dear is not their, i end up making pulav and raita..no full course meal.

    At least some days we need rest..hai na.

    of course we do and this leads to me thinking that the man of our life eats a lot πŸ˜‰

    Where do u stay Scribby??? Wud like to know more abt u:)
    Take care
    Gayu

  11. Not at my home. That’s because I don’t cook. When H is out, I usually get that stuff prepared which he does not like and I do πŸ™‚

    that’s the best idea,isn’t it? πŸ™‚

  12. Never happened at home…mom’s a passionate cook and she’ll cook even if its just for the dog πŸ˜€
    i do the same… πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    hats off πŸ™‚

  13. hee hee.. My mom is like that… Me on the other hand dont cook much even if hubby is there πŸ˜‰ But depends…sometimes when I am alone I get cravings to eat some nice stuff then I do the whole cooking elaborate recipes thingy too!!

    cool..so who does the elaborate cooking,the husby? πŸ˜€

  14. I have seen this happening too, but I cook even if he is away and we order from outside/eat leftovers/eat maggi even when he is home, this way he also gets to enjoy some Maggi-days πŸ™‚

    the other way round happens at our place too but generally when Husby isn’t around I tend necessarily cook something or the other rather a full meal πŸ™‚

  15. yup!! This used to happen in my parents’ place too! But now when only D and I are at home (no parents of any side visiting) cooking isn’t a big deal..Somedays I cook elaborately [which in Bengalis means rice, dal, one starter, one sabzi and a fish item] and somedays we have just roti and one sabzi and somedays maggi πŸ™‚

    maggi sounds so much like my thing meal πŸ™‚

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

