Face and Book

I love reading books and largely I read fiction. I’ve this habit-when I start reading a book,for initial few pages the story just doesn’t click with me. I don’t know what I’m reading or if I know I don’t like it to the fullest. I take a while to get immersed in the story line,say about 2-5 pages.

Also,if a book doesn’t click even after say around 15-20 pages then I know it’s not for me and I leave it aside.Talking about this I remember sometime back Swar told me that she has a habit of not leaving a book unread if she has started with it,even if it is not much to her interest. Husby has the same habit.If he picks up some book,he’ll read it to the T.  I tried doing it  but somehow just doesn’t go with my logic, any way!

On the other hand when a book clicks with me,I just get drowned in it,totally. And then the story starts playing in the head,even at the time when I’m not reading it. I get involved in the book to the extent of assigning faces to the characters in the story.

For example:

When I was reading Amitav Ghosh’s ‘The Hungry Tide‘ I gave that fisherman the face of the man on elephant shown in the song ‘Mile Sur Mera Tumhara‘ …remember ? Okay see these pictures:

close up 🙂

When I was reading Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s ‘The angel’s game‘ the character played by Christina got a face of Bigg Boss season-5’s contestant-Sunny Leone.

Sunny Leone

Now currently I’m reading ‘Shantaram’ by Gregory David Roberts and I can any given day see how he looks like [on google images of course!] but before even wanting to see how the author looks my mind has given this author a face already. His face is of Andrew Symonds, [just saw him in Bigg Boss-5 house !]

Andrew Symonds

I was wondering how does my mind select the faces for characters I’m reading about? Is it because I’ve seen those faces just recently and hence they are fresh in my mind? To this I could have said yes if the character in Amitav’s book did not get assigned a face that I had not seen in a long time-that is of the man on elephant in the song.

So how does the mind work? What’s the logic behind it? I don’t recall thinking before assinging a face when progressing in the story…it just happens automatically…while reading I start visualizing a face [known of course] attached to the character and let me tell you this makes the reading all the more interesting, after all if the characters that you are reading about get a face of their own,you tend to relate to them in a better way,no?

Does this happen with you? Does your mind functions similarly? What’s your logic behind this? Do you have any peculiar habit in terms of reading books?

12 thoughts on “Face and Book

  1. Happens with me too! And then when I meet the person again [bcoz they r amongst ppl I hv met at times], the story keeps playing in my mind 😛 😛

    heheeh really? 🙂 usually I have assigned faces which are not known to me personally to me,so this has never happened with me 🙂

  2. oh well it says moderation so i doubt i am first 😦

    😛 🙂

    hmm i do that too put faces that i know makes it easier to understand and read 🙂

    logic is jsut that some faces i like and want ot see and some as u say i have just recetly seen so they are in the mind …

    yeah may be 🙂

  3. I’ve never done that! But I can understand – it must make the story more interesting 🙂

    I wonder if I will start doing it, now that I’ve read this post 🙂

    tell me if it happens with you now 🙂

  4. Hee hee 🙂 That’s quite funny. I am never able to do it. The face remains fuzzy

    hahaha your just saying ‘that’s quite funny’ makes me feel it’s funny 😛

  5. i do it..not just while reading books,even when people talk to me about someone i do not know..say my bro went to see a girl,and when he explains i kind of give her a face..nice reading scribby..so here is a note of appreciation waiting for u..chk my blog-http://zradar.wordpress.com/

    oh while even listening to someone’s tales? I have never been there 🙂 and thanks for the appreciation..heading to your blog right away..by the way I used to read you sometime back but then in between I think you kind of stopped writing? Or my reader stopped sending me notifications 😦 but now I’ll start from where I had left 🙂 coming over!

  6. I am with you on this. Imagination always helps me get a better grip on the story and makes it all the more interesting for me. I am so glad to learn that I am not the only one with this strange habit 😀 😀

    of course not,join the club 🙂

  7. Happens with me too….. For all the Sophie Kinsella books that I have read I end up giving the lead characters the face of genelia d’souza…. 🙂

    haven’t read Sophie but now when I’ll read her I’ll also think about Genelia 🙂

  8. I too do it when I read. I either relate to some known face, if not I tend to imagine by giving the character face by myself.

    wow giving an imaginary face must cool!

  9. Happens with me too. Like when I was reading Fountainhead, I always picturised Kevin Bacon as Howard Roark.
    But yes, like Seema said here, sometimes my mind churns out some mental image which comes closest to the character in question.
    It might be due to the physical attributes of the character, or us remembering seeing the actor in a similar role. Our subconscious mind retains a lot of information, only we dont know it.

    I think you are right 🙂

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

