Toilet Mania

While talking to a friend yesterday we came on the subject of toilets.

For me it is very important to have a toilet around and clean.

Last month when I was in B’lore,we made a road trip to Mysore. I was pleased to see there were toilets all across the stopping points and at the sight seeing places. And the best thing that I liked about them was they were very basic types but very very clean despite being public toilets. Something which is very rare across the country. Usually the condition of the toilets is not that good-there would be no water or no cleanliness or no doors or all of these 😦

Having a cleaner/usable toilet in the vicinity makes the road trip / shopping experience / sight seeing tension free for me. Cause I can’t use a dirty / unclean toilet and you know what happens when you don’t use the toilet for a long time πŸ˜‰

Until few years I dreaded using the train toilets and I don’t have to elaborate here about the conditions of our train toilets. Yes even if that means A/c coaches. They are just a bit better than the sleeper coaches but still not very clean all the time,sigh!

So while I was telling this to my friend yesterday, she said I’m weird that I give SO much importance to a toilet. As per her, what the heck, it’s just a toilet after all!

May be she is right. May be I give out of proportion importance but that’s how I am. If we randomly go for a trip and don’t pre-book the hotels I’ve to make sure the toilet is a good one in the room or we skip that hotel..yeah laugh at me!

How important it is for you to have a clean and usable toilet when you are traveling,visiting a mall/theaterΒ or on a road trip?

image source

15 thoughts on “Toilet Mania

    1. bangalore to mysore πŸ™‚ oh yes I had gone the same route too.. and had stopped at RAMGARH remember Sholay he he heh

      oh yes we did stop there and had our breakfast πŸ™‚ the huge idli is quiet famous there,you ate?

      Important well I am man and it shud not be that much of a deal BUt if dirty I dont use it.
      And very important .. I have sometimes travelled miles to reach a pub or something ot use one …

  1. you are my soul sister….most of my relatives find my obession with clean toilets as CRAZY!!! well crazy so it be, but my toilet needs to be clean..period.fullstop.

    full stop it is sistah πŸ™‚

  2. Oh, i’m sooooooo with you. Unclean toilets freak me out…and I just cannot “go”.
    I’ve even quit a job in 4 days because the toilet there was so shoddy! πŸ˜€
    thereafter, every interview i ever attend, i make it a point to use the restroom πŸ˜€

    hahah really? that’s quiet funny but clean toilets are a must that’s for sure πŸ™‚

  3. I CANNOT use a dirty toilet 😦 Just cannot. Just a toilet? Not for me! Toilets have to be clean!
    Daughter is the same, so the both of us have a tough time when it comes to public toilets in India 😦

    Infact I feel that a house’s real cleanliness lies in how clean the toilets are.. I have been to houses where the toilets stink – and they seem unbothered by it! *shudders*

    exactly my point…if one’s toilets are not clean it shows how unhygienic people living in that house could be!

  4. clean toilet is very important…I just can’t do my business in unclean toilet…..in trains, I hardly eat or drink 😦

    same here!

  5. More important than anything else πŸ˜› πŸ˜› The first thing I chk out while booking a hotel, and anywhere and everywhere else too πŸ˜‰

    ditto πŸ™‚

  6. A clean toilet is very very important to me. I just can’t bring myself to use an unclean toilet or washbasin. 😦

    I don’t think I am overly skeptical about toilets – but to a fair extent, I am conscious about the cleanliness.

    and I thought I was the only one πŸ™‚

  7. I take it to an extreme. Before I travel I am filled with dread, about having to use an unknown toilet. I hate train toilets. I hate random hotel restrooms. I need a basic level of cleanliness…or I just can’t go!
    😦

    same pinch sistah!

  8. Same pinch Nu!
    I don’t use the toilet if it’s dirty. Very very particular!
    Even if it’s neat, I open the door + use the flush with a tissue!!! And then a Dettol hand sanitizer!!! πŸ˜€

    yay so I’m not weird πŸ™‚

    You came to Bangalore?????!!? 😯 And you didn’t even tell me!!! 😦

    oh man!!! I so forgot that you too live there 😦 my fault sowwy 😦 I don’t I always had this in mind that you lived in Kerala…oh I’m regretting it now 😦

  9. Some people are very particular about toilets..it is no big deal πŸ™‚ Though I prefer clean toilets too, I can adjust to the circumstances. Living in a hostel teaches one many things πŸ™‚

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

