Yard Stories

Since I could remember my parents have been very gardening types. I remember having plenty of rose plants, veggies, fruits in our garden and backyard. And when I say gardening types I mean the ones who are themselves so much into the task. My parents actually ‘did’ gardening and had all the knowledge of plants and everything gardening. Growing around such parents you are bound to take up some of their interests!

When I came to Husby’s home I found out that these people are gardeners too,well not by profession πŸ™‚ The backyard is full of fruit trees like mango, guava, papaya, custard apple and banana and plants like curry leave and colocasiaΒ . [So many fruits to pluck and eat and I’m still fat,huh! anyway,that’s not the point here]

So, like I said I carried my parent’s interest of gardening and how? I like beautiful manicured garden in the front and the trees at the back to sit and relax under them. But all this hard work has to be done by somebody else [read:Β maliΒ here] πŸ™‚

Few days agoΒ Mali BabaΒ got us some tomato plants and I was thrilled cause I love tomatoes so much so that I can survive on them alone!

And now that plant has started yielding the fruits,like literally πŸ™‚ This takes me to my childhood when mum used to tell me go get some greenΒ chilies or tomatoes orΒ kadhi patta plucked! The joy of using these things from your own yard Β in cooking was not known to me until I started doing the same in my home. But the joy of plucking was inexpressible then and today also !

Reddy Reds Ready πŸ™‚
Greenie Greens for Chutney

And today I have Chirpy to ask for some tomatoes from the garden πŸ™‚ I feel like my mother…Truly said, life comes a full circle,whatever & wherever!Β I’m counting my blessings that I’m given chance to relive those moments, in a different way!

14 thoughts on “Yard Stories

    1. Awww Chirpy with red cheeks and red tomatoes in hand – I just can’t stop smiling with that picture in mind πŸ™‚

      I luv getting my hands muddy too, and though I have just my balcony to grow some, I treasure my little garden so much πŸ™‚

      P.S: I luv luv luv green tomato chutney πŸ˜›

  1. Wow! you sure are lucky..we had a pretty decent garden back in Baroda..a huge Guava tree, a huge Jamun tree..ours was the only backyard with kela..it was pretty cool…and yaa we did have kadi patta and lemon as well πŸ™‚

    Its awesome to have a garden rey..and those tomatoes look so so inviting!

  2. wowww… fresh fruits and veggies from our own garden are so so so good.. of course life comes to a full circle for all moms whatever/wherever.. enjoy your garden.. πŸ™‚

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

