‘That long silence’-Book Review

That Long Silence

About the book

Author

 Shashi Deshpande

Picture of the Author

 

ISBN

978-0-14-012723-2

Price [INR]

200/-

Pages

196

Main Plot

 A failed writer, Jaya, is haunted the memories of the past. She is engulfed in the thoughts of differences with her husband in her 17 year old marriage, her disappointment in her children. It is about the uncovering and erasing the ghost of the past which were rooted in childhood.

No. of Characters

2 leads

Tone of

writing is

Dark and refined.

My take on the book

Do I recommend the book?

Well, I don’t think so.

The reasons I liked the book

>The fine writing and usage of English language.>The underlining of the plot is quiet good.

On the other hand

>The story oscillates between Jaya’s past and present.>Jaya as a character did not pretty much appeal me.

>The story is kind of on the negative side.

Unlike this novel I’ve always loved Shashi’s work. The best so far I liked is ‘In the country of deceit’. You can find the review here.

2 thoughts on “‘That long silence’-Book Review

  1. I’ve never read her books – they aren’t available here. Once I come back 🙂

    Btw I just completed The devotion of suspect X, and thank you so so so much! I loved it!

    1. TDSX IS a great novel, I’m glad you got hold of it and finished it 🙂

      I think you’ll like Shashi Deshpande…come to India and then 🙂

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

