The Facebook

I’ve come across people who lament on how FB addicts keep updating their status messages,minute by minute, like eating,sleeping or even peeing [in mockery] and that this is so not cool and all such.

Everyone has his / her own reasons to be on FB.

Before anything, let me admit that I’m totally hooked to FB. I love FB and there are reasons why I’m logged on to it all the time:

>For me FB is like a gateway to reach out to all my friends whom I cannot meet in reality or every day.

>For me FB is a way to stay connected to [my] world and kind of be social.

>For me FB is a platform at which I’m updated easily of what’s happening in my friends’ lives and they are updated of mine.

>For me FB is full time entertainment,what with friends like Hitchy, Deeps, Smitha, Pixie, Anonymously Disguised, Swaram,Ums, Sags and more such keep that space rocking with their witty updates and lovely songs πŸ™‚

>For me FB is aΒ scrabbleΒ board where in I have lovely playmates like Smitha, Deeps, Hitchy and few other friends.

So why should I not love FB?

Moreover I also hear people saying it’s not good to open up your life for so many people.Whom you might not even know properly. True that,hence I add only those people whom I think I’m okay to share my life with cause I’m quiet open on FB with updates and photos.Β I also don’t accept friend requests under any obligation. I’ve rejected some relatives’ requests too because they just wanted to add me to increase their friend count or whatever!

All I would want to say to those how complain that ‘FB is a waste of time because people put everything that we might not want to know’..I truly respect your opinion but no one’s forcing you to be on FB,right? So go ahead and delete your account right way OR delete / block that friend who annoys you so much with his updates,eh?

Another one that I’ve heard a lot is that people put up their glam sham nice photos only.It is so obvious that who would put their bad photos on a public site-to them I’ll say yes exactly,who would want to put their bad photos on public site or anywhere…you tell me honestly,if there is some click where in you are looking fat or not so good,would you even consider putting it as your desktop wallpaper? I guess most people will say no…so the theory is simple, we humans only flash what is good !

Things mostly come with an option in life. FB is one of them. You’ve an option to logout/delete your account and no one would even bother. On the contrary I’ve known people who are silent themselves but they love lurking. They love watching other people’s lives closely. And I think for them FB is kind of addiction cause they are addicted to sneaking!

Any way,before you think that I’m being paid to writeΒ nicetiesΒ about FB,sadly you are wrong,sigh! I just wrote what I think of FB…no taking sides and all that okay?

At the end let me ask you a simple question-What do you think people should be doing on FB other than things that have been mentioned above…I want to hear πŸ™‚

All said,addiction of anything is not a good idea,even if it socialΒ networking!!!!

Some funny pictures,about FB, that I came across on FB itself πŸ™‚

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

25 thoughts on “The Facebook

  1. I strongly feel that it is an individual thing. As you have rightly said nobody forces you to be on FB or to behave in a certain way there. We might not like how others behave in a certain place but then we always have an option to ignroe them, plain & simple.
    But no we have to complicate things, we have to critcise everything that we don’t like πŸ˜€ That’s life re πŸ™‚
    I am there on FB (have deleted my account twice) just to post pics of my L”le one so that ppl who are not there with me know what he is upto πŸ™‚

  2. I am also an FB addict though I don’t put status updates too often. I think nothing is too much as long as you know who you are sharing it with. And ofcourse no one is forcing you to see all that. Yes, sometimes there are very annoying updates but then it sort of is a necessary evil where I have found many of my old friends.

  3. Totally agree with u Scribby.. Had been thinking of doing a post on this for quite sometime now. You made it. πŸ™‚

    On a totally different note, I miss your yellow n blue display pic, which shouts Scribby.. πŸ˜‰

    1. I’m looking forward to reading your post…c’mon bring it on πŸ™‚

      Oh is it? I loved this Lotus clicked at one of our family’s farm visit…and tampered it a bit by increasing saturation πŸ™‚

  4. Loved your take here πŸ™‚ I do agree that the criticisms of fb get annoying sometimes as well. Makes me wonder if criticizing what others kind of think is cool, is a fashionable thing to do. Ah, well.
    I am not big on fb either but use it to stay connected as much as possible. What I totally dislike and have chosen to ignore are those stupid things that people share .. Such as, women are selfish and girls like boys for money and all that crap.
    Thankfully, we can choose what we want to see πŸ™‚

    1. Did I tell you that I love your WP handle? Reminds of the good old days when we used to eat kissme toffees πŸ™‚

      Oh tell me about those stupid updates,really,they certainly get on my nerves…and the articles that people read? Aishwarya Rai’s weight gain and such? Oh god!!!!! I’m like “give me a break people” πŸ˜€

  5. I have been contemplating shutting down my account for a while. I update my status occasionally and mainly have pics of my two babies on there. Apart from that, occasionally check out people’s profiles. I have less than a 100 ‘friends’ on there as I have culled acquaintances. Also posted about FB myself today but on something a bit different… πŸ™‚

    1. Oh I do have more than 100 friends on the list but trust me,as I said,I don’t keep adding people under any sort of social/family obligations…I purely add them on their being my really good/close friends/relatives!

      I read your post and regarding that I guess again something that one likes to flash around? To convey the message that someone is mingling πŸ™‚ or just plain and simple happy in life? whatever πŸ™‚

  6. @PB: I just finished reading your post on FB and then I read Scribby’s and wondered if you guys decided to write on the same topic :):)

    @Scribby: I am very very silent on FB…I rarely update anything…I dont like the concept of FB somehow..but I am yet to delete my account…I have random people asking me for fraandship which I just ignore…its very very individual honestly…just because some one likes being on FB doesnt mean they are addicted or anything..its one’s choice thats all πŸ™‚

    Sameway if I dont like being on FB, its my choice..llike you mentioned no one forced me to have an account right?

    1. yeah I read PB’s post too but we didn’t decide it,pakka promise πŸ˜€

      I know how silent you are there πŸ˜€ exactly my point…I mean I love being on FB and among friends but not that it’s hampering my real life in any which way…so alls good !

  7. This is the FB status update I wrote yesterday
    [I have decided that FB is a sheer waste of time and I shall resist the temptation to write new status updates or comment on others’ updates.
    I’ll just come back every hour or so to check how many likes and comments this status message got :P]

    πŸ™‚ I oscillate between loving FB and hating it .. It definitely can be a bit addictive but then I have got back in touch with so many people through FB !

    1. Hey Ruchira,first of all Hi! After a long time,how have you been?

      hahaha I love that status message,so how many likes and comments did you get?

      Oh trust me even I dislike FB sometimes but then I bounce back to liking it for the reasons mentioned in the post πŸ™‚

  8. I think each to their own, we all have our own ideas .. I am not much active on FB as you can see , I hardly go there other then to put my post links.. and STILL people dont read 😦 he he he he

    My only concern is the amout of time spent on it , to me fb is waste of time for sure as I would rather pick up a fone and talk to a friend then know about it on a status or chat online

    but I am not one to say it to others , we are all intelligent people and have all the right to spend our time as he do πŸ™‚

    I guess its fine to spend time on there as long as it doesnot hamper other things πŸ™‚ have fun FaceBooking Scribby πŸ™‚

    1. lol @ the first part of the comment!

      On the second part: I agree that FB is full time pass [not waste though πŸ˜‰ hehehe] But as you said you rather pick up the phone and call friends,but when you have so many close/good friends it’s practically not possible that you call each and everyone..moreover when you get a platform where in all of you can together chat and stay in touch,what better than this? right? of course my view πŸ™‚

      And coming to the last part: I totally agree…as long as the time pass is not affecting our real life and work all fun is good πŸ™‚

  9. Totally agree Scribby. It is an individual thing. I’m on FB but don’t update statuses too often. I use it to stay in touch with people who I can’t call often or meet. But its funny how people show off their foren trip photos on FB πŸ˜€

  10. I enjoy FB – with all its imperfections!! πŸ˜€
    I love posting songs, pics for my friends.
    Most importantly, its thru FB that I’m in touch with you guys and you guys have made sure I am not lonely or sad in a foreign country where I have no friends…
    So, I’m grateful for this platform or being so addictive! Because, its given me the comfort of friends… πŸ™‚

  11. hmmm.. even i am not addicted.. put yes, chk it every weekend.. for me it helps to keep track of upcoming b’days of friends and tell them when i am back in city ..

  12. I guess I am neutral to FB. I dont hate it and not addicted to it either. In fact I am glad to be connected with many old friends that I had lost touch with. I do post pics once in a while and check FB regularly πŸ™‚

  13. I am mostly into facebook for the groups of which I am a member. and as for relatives I have two separate accounts..one for family and ex colleagues and other for blog friends and old classmates.

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

