I want the dust off my soul!

As much I want to read with speed and regularity,the time and mostly the energy is not permitting me now :(. The new phase of life has drowned me in and I’ve lost to it’s whirlpool. I hate to admit that I’m loosing my reading time and no matter how strongly I decide or promise myself, I cannot bring self to read on weekends. Something or the other comes up or I become plain lazy and sleep round the clock as if I’ve been zombied, if that’s the word!

Any way, but I’ve to get a grip. I’ve to get back to reading. When I don’t read, I feel something is amiss in life. Right now, from outer, if you look at my life, it is quiet perfect-a lovely job, good pay, a loving and supporting family and an awesome daughter to come home to…so what’s wrong you say?

Why am I creating so much of hue and cry about not being able to read those mere bunch of pages bound together to be called books?

Before I reply to the above question, I’m, taken back to the good old days-when a book was finished in one straight night,when books were the primary things that danced on mind while shopping,when book reviews was an interesting activity,when I didn’t think even once before applying to review books,when ‘which book should be the next’ was a regular question on my mind…..

You get the idea right? Now I’m sure you won’t ask me the above question again,or would you?

Well, all I can say is I might not tag myself as a voracious reader per say but I’m a reader and I love books.

  • I can’t live without that feeling of books around me.
  • While listing the specifics of renovation,first thing that me and Husby had in mind was a space for a cozy in-house library,the area is already imagined and the walls painted and the bean bags placed.
  • I want my daughter to love books-yes you can call it as an expectation in a truer sense.
  • We introduced her to book when she was 4 months young [got the idea from Smithu],today she has her own library of 15 books at 17 months of age.
  • I feel proud when she opens up pages and mumbles something as if reading.
  • I secretly love the stare people give me when I mention that we buy books for our little girl-all I like to think is that they don’t know the magic of books ;).
  • On a weekend I prefer to laze around with Chirpy and be in bed to read.
  • I go tsk tsk when I see kids of age 3,4-7,8 and even teenagers drowned in TV instead of playing or reading. I getΒ judgmentalΒ and pity their parents.

So, all for love of books and reading, I’m promising myself to read regularly on weekends ..there is nothing called ‘no time’ or ‘less time’ in the world and I remember Smita’s post,ahem a premium blogger’s post on blogadda, about that extra time and I agree with her.

If you love something,you’ll do it anyway!So, I promise myself to not make excuses but just read πŸ™‚

How true is that!
30 thoughts on “I want the dust off my soul!

  1. I have been neglecting books too. Its not like I dont have time I just can’t bring myself to start reading it again. I still have haven’t finished The Mocking Bird and its been 2 months.

    I think I should start too. I promise myself not to make excuses and just read πŸ˜€

  2. It can be difficult but yes, a page a day may be. It can be a good way to be in touch. I loved the fact that you already have so many books for Chirpy to fall in love with πŸ™‚

  3. Oh, I bigtime bigtime get judgemental when i don’t see kids reading ! I wonder how they could not like books and then I need to give one on my head and acknowledge different tastes but still, books are books, hai na?

    I felt that void of not reading a couple of months back when my travel grew newly insane but am back on track now! πŸ™‚

    I really wish you get to catch upon the reading soon soon ! If nothing, an audio book for temporary pleasure (because it CAN NEVER , EVER replace the joy of reading as you are now nodding) πŸ™‚

    I am waiting for a review soon soon ! πŸ™‚

    1. you’re right…the feel of the book and holding it is far far away from listening to the book or reading on the screen πŸ™‚ and I finished a book today,yay..review tomorrow πŸ™‚

  4. I was a voracious reader when I was single. Every weekend I would go to the library and bring enough books for the week. Mostly I would finish a book max in 2 days πŸ˜€

    After wedding, I lost that reading streak totally, I was so shocked at myself that how could I go on without a single book in my room. Thankfully, since a month I have been reading quite regularly *touchwood*

    Heres wishing you lots of uninterrupted reading time Scribbs πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks Visha πŸ™‚ I’m glad you are back to reading too πŸ™‚ Ain’t reading such a beautiful thing in life? πŸ™‚ God’s gift that we are literate!

  5. I can totally totally understand this state of yours Scribby. I was so fond of books when I was single too. books were my best companion, during my lone days in B’lore. TV was not even close to consoling my loneliness. I used to buy so many books (which are at my parents place now) and even if I didnt have a book, I used to atleast find e-books.

    Now, I wont say I lost the bond.. No. But I am not making time for it. Its not that I dont have time, but yeah I am not making myself enough time to fit in reading. Thanks to flipkart, I have a handful of books now and slowly getting back on track. It feels really good!

    Good luck to you too! Expecting a book review soon πŸ™‚

  6. Amen to that:)

    I find excuses to not do a lot of things, but reading is something that I need to do:) I go crazy if I don’t have something to read:)

    Am sure, Chirpy will.go up loving books, just as much you do. hugs!

  7. Books are not a mere bunch of pages bound together – they are much much much more than that. Sorry for nitpicking, but that is the thing that stood out the most in your post.

    I agree with Smitha. If you love something enough, you WILL create time in your life for it. Everyone has just 24 hours, they choose to do what they do with it. πŸ™‚

    That said, I know you love reading and I am really hoping you will make time to read out of your schedule.

    I love the idea of creating a library for your kid since birth. I am going to implement that in future πŸ˜‰

    Also, once in a while, it is good to take a break from books and do something else for a change… letting life take its course, I mean.

    PS: Part of the above comment might sound rude, but it is just my two cents. No intention to hurt, just stating my views. Humble apologies in advance.

    1. first things first lady: that line is pun intended, you know, in a tone that why am I making such a hue and cry where as I meant to write that IT IS a big deal if I don’t get to read a book…hope you getting me? and you need not apologize like this to me okies? It’s between friends and perfectly alright πŸ™‚

      Yes I’ve started implementing the reading regularly bit and to my happiness I finished reading ‘The Kite Runner’ this weekend πŸ™‚

      Yes taking a break is a nice thing but somehow taking a ‘long’ break from reading seems silly no? πŸ˜‰

  8. Hey, i can relate to you so much!!! I can fully understand that you want Chirpy to be a read-o-holic….I too would love Zini to enjoy reading…
    I too bought books for her when she was 6 months old (it’s the different matter that she chewed on those books πŸ˜‰ ) and i don’t have a cable connection at my home precisely for this reason….

  9. Ah! I love this post πŸ™‚ Reading is something that is close to my heart and anyone who tries to take out time for it is a star in my eyes πŸ™‚
    I am sure you will work out a schedule where u can read πŸ™‚
    good luck!

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

