‘The Kite Runner’-Khaled Hosseini

About the book

Author

 Khaled Hosseini

Picture of the Author

 

ISBN

978-0-7475-6653-3

Price [INR]

263/- [Flipkart]

Pages

324

Main Plot

With a backdrop of Taliban ruled Afganistan, the story is set up in Kabul and partly in America, of two little boys-one a royal Pashtun blood-Amir and the other a mere HazaraHassan.The story is of their lives, their friendship, separation, guilt, truths and secrets.The story goes to tell you how one coward decision darkens the future, how one lie erects boundaries, how distances crush relationships, how love never loses faith, how life becomes cheap, how killing a human being under the name of religion and God’s wish becomes passion, how one’s caste becomes one’s reason of death…how just one step towards the truth brings in courage and makes one a guilt free human being!

No. of Characters

2 main leads

Tone of writing

Flowing, Simple and Capturing.
My take on the book

Do I recommend the book?

Yes, very much.

The reasons I liked the book

>It has honest expressions, simplicity and the words carry the fearless truth.

>The story reaches you; you can feel it pumping in your heart all the while.

>It is that kind of a book which will remain with you forever; no matter how heart-breaking it is, it will always be close to your heart.

>Every time you will keep down the book, for a break, you will feel the urge to pick it up again and reach the end; however, honestly at some places I felt the story should not unfold, felt that I don’t want to know what happens next, I don’t want to miss a beat again-all this because you become the part of the story. You feel the pain, the pinch and at the end, the hope too!

On the other hand

>It is sad, shattering and shakes you from within.
39 thoughts on “‘The Kite Runner’-Khaled Hosseini

  1. ONE OF MY FAVOURITE BOOK!! I literally wept when I reached the part where AMIR reads HASSAN’s letter…and when we find out and hassan and his wife where shot dead 😦
    another good book by the same author is ‘A THOUSAND SPLENDID SUNS’

  2. I read this one a couple of years back and can so relate to what you meant by your reasons for liking the book and the “on the other hand” section.
    On a related note, this book is also special because it was one of the first books I got from K in a courier 🙂

  3. I hate that he’s such a wonderful writer because the scenes are described with such clarity and amazing detail that they stayed vividly in my mind for weeks after….and, that’s the whole problem! Maybe, I’m just a wimp! 😦

  4. I’ am yet to read it and the only reason I haven’t taken it up so far is cuz my friend was sad for days after reading it…. I don’t know how it will be in my case…

    1. I’m going to read the other one after I finish the current read…Movie I liked but I felt it could not do a proper justice to the entire book…though of course they could not have made such a lengthy movie….

  5. Yups its a very good book.. i cried twice reading the book.. u can feel for those characters..
    Even Thousand Splendid Suns is also a good read.

    1. Yes I’ve been told about the ‘thousand splendid…’ and I’m going to read it after I finish ‘the palace of illusions’….I cried too while reading the book and watching the movie….a soul stirring piece…

  6. I read this book a long time ago, and simply loved it. Couldn’t put it down at all. It was heart-breaking, though, and I was literally crying by the time I finished it. The book haunted me for days on end. I would stay scenes from the book still haunt me. 😦

    I went on to read Khaled Hosseini’s A Thousand Splendid Suns immediately after this one. Loved that one, too. Have you read that?

    As someone has commented here, Hosseini is a brilliant writer. His writing evokes images of people, of those difficult times in Afghanistan, in your mind. That makes his books so vivid that you can’t ever forget them. I wonder why he wrote only two books. I would have loved to read more by him.

    1. I’m going to read his other book after the current read…though I must take a break before the second book…

      I echo your thoughts, I was wondering why he has not written more books…would love to read him more…

  7. Doesn’t this book leave you shocked? I remember it as if I read it yesterday ( I read it 3 years ago). We met a very friendly Afgan during our recent europe vacation. It was extremely sad to hear the way he described the situation. He hasn’t gone back in 30 years but his mom and siblings are still there. He was lamenting the loss of such a beautiful country.

    1. Oh reading a lovely book is one thing and listening to the stories from horse’s mouth is another..and you’ve had both experiences…I know it is a shocking state and it is going to remain crystal clear in my memory..specially when the book has been written with such clarity of expression!

  8. Hey! Not sure if you got my previous comment-its gone into ME’s comment box – I really dont know how 😦

    Anyway – Have you read the thousand splendid suns too? Again the same background and a good read-its so heart wrenching but you still want to continue reading it and not put it aside! Wonder if the movie is so good too…

    1. Haiiin? comments of my blog went to ME?

      I’ve to read the other book…but I’m going to read it,have already bought it…and I’m sure it’ll turn out as good as this one!

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

