4/30 Letters : Letter to My Sibling

Dear N,

Today I will tell you something that I’ve never ever told you all these years. You might hate me for this or just laugh it out, but whatever your reaction, I would take it !

When I was small, and you were not born then, I was the most cherished child in the family, being the first in every sect of the big family set and subset on mamma’s side. I felt awesome and top of the world, of course not knowing these words/expressions then ๐Ÿ˜‰ . I was the only one, and was attended like a princess. I was the toy of our uncles and aunts, I was the apple of granparents’ eyes… I was… you get the drift right? So yes I was special and felt that every moment of my life!

Then I started seeing my friends having siblings sisters. Slowly I realized I was the only one without a sibling a sister and I started longing for you, my sibling (could have been a sister sibling). I didn’t know our parents were expecting already, and that you were shortly going to come into our lives.

Cut to the day when you were born. This day is crystal clear in my memory, till date and it will always remain, I know! Papa came to pick me from school, Aai was not there at home and Nani wasn’t there too (she had just came couple of days ago to visit us, so I thought, but she came for bringing you in!) Papa was in hurry, since he had come from office, just to feed me, change my clothes and take me to the hospital to meet you!

I was told while getting ready that I’ve a little brother now which we are going to see and then he’ll come home. I looked at Papa in “horror” like literally! A brother? Was papa sure, ha, I wondered! I confirmed and yes it was you, a baby boy, my brother, which I never wanted! I wanted a sister, to show off to my friends like theyย didย theirs! I thought having a brother was not cool, he could not be your best friend, he could not dress like you he was not the one, basically, huh!

I fretted over it, did a little drama, cried, shouted that I don’t want to see you, I don’t want you to come home etc etc! Papa was getting late, since he had to drop me at hospital and go back to office! Finally after coaxing me softly, he shouted at me! Tada! That was the second trigger for me to create more drama… I said papa shouted on me because now you have come, ha!

How naive I was then, just a little girl, you know I don’t mean all that I did and said for you then, right? I honestly wanted a little sister for me and it all began from there. But slowly when we started growing up together, I realized it doesn’t matter if it is a brother or a sister, all that matters first is you have a sibling ๐Ÿ™‚ and I’m glad I have you!

Sibling is the best gift parents give to their children, I truly believe in this and good lord we have each other ๐Ÿ™‚

On a side note, having a sister has its own perks no? which I missed with you ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰ ok ok, I agree brothers are the best, ok? ๐Ÿ˜€

While I write this, not a very brotherly-sisterly song, but this is what I’ve on my mind!

Love,

Dee

3 thoughts on “4/30 Letters : Letter to My Sibling

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

