Two or One, how many is enough?

Lot of time I find myself discussing with friends about having a second child or no. Every time I get into this discussion, I somehow tend to steer it towards the highs of having another baby and why not!

Lot of my friends, obviously, are on the other side, of thinking ‘why to have 2 kids, one is more than enough’. And then the reasoning starts. A healthy discussion that we have, it makes my belief stronger each time, to have 2 kids and not stop at one.

My reasons can be categorized into two heads: 1) For Chirpy 2) For us in the same order.

For Chirpy:

I think there are plenty of reasons I can list down under this head. The major being:

-She will have a companion, playmate, a friend for life.

-She will learn to share and adjust as a human being.

-She will become responsible and caring in her approach.

-She will have the feeling of being the elder one and having a younger one tugged to her, like her own baby!ย that feeling is really sweet, trust me!

-She will not be the only child & eventually maybe the lonely child.

Now see all the above points are my own opinions, not that the only children are essentially lonely in their lives. I’ve friends who are single child of their parents and have had absolutely healthy and happy childhood and eventually they are good social people as grown ups. All I’m saying isย I feel this and that’s why I want to have another baby!

For Us:

Why for us? Umm.. well, here’s why:

-I love having more than one kid, and mind you by having I don’t mean just having, I mean producing here! The whole experience of creating a baby, keeping it inside for 9 months, feeling the connection, that only exists between a mother and the baby, seeing your heart pop out of you at the end of this journey and then seeing that flesh & blood grow into a human being and nurturing it by yourself, this all is amazing, truly amazing! Now that said, I’m not saying parenting or motherhood has only up side always. Of course not, it has its lows and pretty lows too. But ain’t life like that? Everything that we have in life come with a set of disadvantages, the choices we make have some downsides to it, I mean whatever we do, we ought to be prepared for the negatives of it all!

-Having two kids will make us parents balanced in our approach of parenting, me thinks! We will not overdo anything, which I think we may, if we have only child.

-I firmly believe in 2 kids as complete family picture ๐Ÿ™‚ though I won’t mind having more than 2 as well lest the husband decides to register me at a mental asylum for behaving like an immature adultย ๐Ÿ˜‰ I mean what let’s get it straight, howsoever I would love having more than 2 kids, it is damn costly and boy! I don’t want to put them in trouble because of my love for kids, you know what I mean?

That said, I know there could be multiple reasons for not having more than one child, sometimes a female goes through a very bad experience at the first time and is terrified to go through it all yet another time. Financial stability and future planning affects this decision big time, parents are career oriented and do not have time or energy to invest in second pregnancy and so on so forth, I mean whatever the case, I’m sure there is always a compelling reason to decide on this factor and I respect their choices!

So all I’m saying is, I’m okay if my friends say “we’re good with one child”. Of course this is very personal choice and it should remain like that. But sometimes, I tend to overdo it with my close friends, and give themย gyaanย about how having two kids=wonderful life ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes that’s me, I can cross boundaries, if I’m totally in love with you and you are listed in my best friends’ list!

So like my last post, to each his own, and for me, having two kids is the way of life ๐Ÿ™‚

 

6 thoughts on “Two or One, how many is enough?

  1. It all sounds very tempting in theory but somehow, practically, it’s not that easy to work out the finances, the childcare, the career breaks, the sibling rivalry, etc, etc. Obviously a very personal choice but nice to read your point of view ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. People find it a little funny when I go about advocating two kids, when I don’t even have one myself yet. But seriously, If I have a child, I want 2! Or none. I feel very strongly about it and I guess you know that..

    Having said that, I worry about being forced to eat my own words sometime… I have no experience in child raising. I hear the finances are hard with a child on the scene.. but I guess at the end of the day it is what you choose and give priority to. A good lifestyle with one kid or a relatively lower lifestyle with two kids..

    1. I so know what you mean, and I certainly remember your view on having 2 kids ๐Ÿ™‚ finances definitely get hard, but then that’s the choice one has to make, you rightly said ๐Ÿ™‚

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

