Chirpy, my little bird!

My 4 year old girl sounds all grown up and prepared to take care of her baby sibling. She talks so confidently about the future that is just around the corner that sometimes I feel like a surrogate mother, you know what I mean? Like I’m just popping out a baby for her to take care of it there onwards.

She has already given us instructions that she’ll feed the baby, bathe it and play with him/her. By the way she calls the baby “Bunny”. This name came instantly the moment we disclosed about the baby news to her, 6 months back.

So, she is going to be the “mamma” of the new baby, in her thoughts and terms and conditions that she has laid down for us. When we questioned her that what will happen when she goes to the school, to that she said, only in that time you or Deda can look after the baby, otherwise, you guys are not supposed to do anything at all !!!!!!

*strict warning* that, no? πŸ™‚

Talking about this, I realize that it is so easy to share things with children. If you are open and non-hiding about general things in life, children also take it normally and don’t fuss over the deeper facts etc. Like I remember, we were thinking when to tell Chirpy about the new arrival that we are expecting. We wondered if telling her in 1st trimester would be too early? Or telling her at all would be right before I start showing up? So all this while when we brainstorm, we finally decided together, that we will simply tell her that we are going have a new baby with us after some days from now.

She was surprised for sure, happy and started thinking. She had many questions that time and we took them one at a time. Earlier the questions were easy, because all she thought was we will go out and bring the baby in, that simple. But then when I started showing, and I started keeping her at a safe distance to not let her jump on me or play with me rigorously, she got to another set of questions.

Our answers changed too, but we kept them to bare minimum and simpler. Babies do grown in mammas’ tummies and then mammas have to go the hospital for the doctor to bring the baby out. She made peace with this, but then she did ask me as to “when did I know that the baby came into my tummy” πŸ™‚ Β To which I told her when doctors told me πŸ˜› I don’t know how convinced she was but I panicked a little on hearing that question. Though I didn’t show it to her at all, after all I’m supposed to stay calm and know all the answers no? πŸ™‚

Anyway, all I’m saying is so far it is good, the question and answer sessions between us is not that taxing. That said, I’m not sure how far it is going to be this relaxing πŸ™‚ But honestly, these moments are interesting. Chirpy makes us think, think hard sometime, as to what could be the better version, in terms of words presentation, of the reality.

My little girl, my birdie, is growing up. I keep telling her that sometimes, Mamma will be very busy to attend her, so she not mind or feel neglected. Mamma, loves her the same, in any condition or state. To which she says, “I know mamma, loves me theeeeeeese much *spreading her arms wide open*”

When did she grow up so much to understand everything? I feel very sentimental when I think of her and all the understanding that she is showing right now. I went through her baby pictures of past 4 years and boy, what a ride it was. Looking at your baby grow like this, knowing all the things that have all of us have gone through, the joys and happiness, the smiles and tears and all the fun that we 3 had, thank god for pictures, we can revisit the moments again and again πŸ™‚

My little girl has grown up, indeed!

2 thoughts on “Chirpy, my little bird!

  1. i can understand yar.. the most difficult part for me was not being able to see her during my stay at hospital.. that too when she was behind her dad and not willing to come to me or not willing to see her little brother. as mine was C-section, she asked so many questions seeing all pipes, IV etc attached to me around the bed.. she was curious to know if at all i will get discharged from hospital.. i was crying all the days in hospital.. i was not able to concentrate on the second one.. my thoughts were just around BUnty all the time..

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

