Maine Pyar Kiya, literally!

The movie, Maine Pyar Kiya has been epic for me. It was released in the year 1989.. when I was not even 10 !

But this movie has a stuck with me for years and years now. I happened to watch it in my summer holidays and somehow the time was such that I got to watch it literally for 32 times in those holidays and then after I watched it again whenever it was featured on television, till date. I can’t explain what I liked about it or I can’t even tell if I love that move or not, cause for the records, I’m no fan of Sallu Bhai or the heroine-who was it? Oh Bhagyashree!

But the very fact that I watched it so many times and even today I watch it, mostly always, it becomes a movie to be discussed about. The dialogues are so much sunk in my brain cells that I can recite them line by line even when the movie is not relayed! I know all the pauses, all the punches and all the words of the dialogues. And they keep coming back to me at various moment in my life, sometimes with reasons and other times without reasons!

Just today when I was cooking, the scene where Alok Nath return from Dubai to fetch her daughter back, came to my mind. And instantly I said the dialogue (in my head!) “Daam chukaunga main tere five star hotel ka, jahan tune meri beti ko rakkha, use khilaya, use pilaya! Bol, kya hai yaha ke lodging charges, boarding charges…dus hazaar, 20 hazaar, 50 hazaar bol kishen kumar choudhary bol

Hahaha, its really really funny ya! Now you see there’s no connection in cooking and the movie, but I still get dialogue spasms from MPK ๐Ÿ˜€

By the way I have to tell you that those 32 times were a sneak peak because obviously watching movie and that too constant re-runs in that time and age was not allowed ๐Ÿ™‚ We had that video tape at myย nani‘s place which I played and replayed conspiring with my cousins!ย Bachpanย Fun that was ๐Ÿ™‚

This proves that I’m a movie buff from the younger stage of my life ๐Ÿ™‚ Only difference is now I don’t have to sneak ๐Ÿ˜‰

What’s yourย bachpanย movie ? Any silly stuff that you did like this?

4 thoughts on “Maine Pyar Kiya, literally!

  1. I could recollect the movie “Alaipayuthey”.. While in college, we rented the video tape, my cousins gathered and we paused every frame when Madhavan was shown in close up.. Also, the TV show that he acted “Sea Hawks” is the name if I remmeber it right. They used to telecast it on Thursday’s night at 9pm on DD ๐Ÿ™‚

C'mon,out with it,right here :)

