Jinxology

All my life I’ve not been superstitious like ‘if (black) cat crosses your path, stop’. Such things I’ve not followed / paid heed to or bothered to understand. Having said that , I don’t demean these superstitions, I don’t think (judge) that these things are useless or should not be given importance to, just that I don’t believe in them.

But there’s one thing of my own, which is a stark contrast to what I just wrote above – I believe that if you speak before things have happened OR you imagine the future before even being in that moment – things go for a toss.

That’s what jinxology is ! I think it happens, it exists and it works. I’ve experienced it so many times and in cases as tiny as planning a movie or a dinner etc.

Slowly and steadily my belief on jinxology has deepened. I’ve grown more cautious than ever and with each passing year, I’m getting very very skeptic about things been said or talked about and getting jinxed!

The fear is so much so that, I don’t tell anyone about our upcoming trips, I don’t tell anyone about our new achievements- until it has all happened and dusted. And by anyone here I mean – any single person, even close family gets to know quite later in the event!! Even if something is halfway, I’m scared to mention it. I feel I’m the reason behind jinxing things. That nazar my own.

Some of my friends do find it weird, some get it right and never bother to pester me. Some ridicule me and some take me seriously. So far, still ok – I’ve been handling it all well – me thinks!

But now, my next level crazy has arrived. If someone is telling me about their good news or trips or plans or any important event of their lives – I stop them right there. I tell them to not speak about it before it takes place in reality – people have given me raised-eyebrow looks, they’ve laughed at me and they’ve tried to make me understand that its ok to speak and everyone’s belief is different.

I get it. I get it. But I’m just being cautious for you too, I’m a good soul no?

Can’t seem to help, jinxology fever has caught me!

4 thoughts on “Jinxology

  1. Scribby! How happy am I to see you again 🙂 Like so so happy.
    Also, I prefer talking about things after they have sort of materialised too. I do share trips and the like but certain things I really like for them to happen – and it is a mix of “let it happen first” and the trepidation that it may not/ get jinxed 🙂

  2. Hey! I am on your blog after ages and enjoyed this post so much! 🙂 🙂
    I have this problem to an extent too; I am frequently afraid I will jinx a good thing if I get too happy about it. Sigh.

C'mon,out with it,right here :)