“A matter of time”

Buy A Matter Of Time

 

Basics of the book
Author Shashi Deshpande
Picture of the Author
ISBN 0-14-026390-X
Price [INR] 250/-
Pages 246
Story Line/Main Plot Family matters and Relationships
No. of Characters Main leads-A couple and their 3 daughters
Tone of writing Expressive
My take on the book
The books is for >People who love dark stories with complicated twists.
Reasons being >A plot where in there is emphasis on relationships.

>Fine balance of tone and placement of words-super hold on English, like always.

>An interesting read where in the reader is made to ponder as to why the husband leaves the wife in the middle of their long relationship and another husband hasn’t spoken to his wife in last 35 years.

On the other hand >Honestly I’m a big fan of Shashi’s writing but somehow this book didn’t create the same magic as the other 4 did.

>May be this kind of complicated stuff is not for me or I didn’t do justice to the reading this time.


11 thoughts on ““A matter of time”

  1. Hmm…have only read one book of hers and that was when I was doing English Lit in B.A and it was part of the course…didn’t enjoy it then but have to say didn’t enjoy any of the books on the syllabus! Need to give her another go…

    Well may be yes…I like the way she writes..only this book was not my types is what I felt 🙂

  2. This kind of complicated stuff is certainly not for you, NOW !!! 🙂 Read something funny, humorous and totally happy endings…. 🙂 🙂

    I know I know 😉 Now that I’m reading those trails 😛 lol I’m super duper happy 🙂 🙂

  3. I’ve only read “The Dark holds No Terrors” while doing my BA Lit — and hated it!! I’ve never given her another try after that. 😀

    Oh O ! heheh just in case you want to try her sometime ever go for her’s ‘In the country of deceit’..may be that will appeal you 🙂

  4. I hv never given her a try 😛 😛 May be sometime later 🙂

    Try her..not that all her books are bad..I quiet like her work..just that this one didn’t appeal me !

  5. I have read Shashi’s “Moving on”. And it was a good read.

    I’m yet to read her ‘Moving On’….I liked her ‘In the country of deceit’ check that if you want to 🙂

  6. I so am not going to reading this book! Somehow didn’t appeal to me at all!! 😀 but, thank you for the review babes! 🙂

    welcome sweetie 🙂

C'mon,out with it,right here :)